How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Jane T (LLC) Your Own Question

Jane T (LLC)
Jane T (LLC), Lawyer
Category: Employment Law
Satisfied Customers: 8435
Experience:  Worked with employment legal group in major national corp.
Type Your Employment Law Question Here...
Jane T (LLC) is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Is my employer legally obligated to honor yearly review and

Resolved Question:

Is my employer legally obligated to honor "yearly review and performance raise" as written in my letter of hire and signed y the owner? Its been three years and I have received neither.
Submitted: 5 years ago.
Category: Employment Law
Expert:  Jane T (LLC) replied 5 years ago.

DearCustomer

 

Was the statement in the letter that definitely, absolutely, NOT maybe, reviews and raises were going to be given OR was it that it may occur, would be up to them to decide, or other language that while it may have seemed certain still allowed them some leeway to decide whether to give raises and reviews?

 

 

 

 

Customer: replied 5 years ago.
I thought I had the letter with me--forgive me.
"Annual salary reviews each July 1, beginning July 1, 2007" is stated in the letter of employment (I referred to an employee's letter which was based on mine)--there's no mention of this being optional or at the discretion of the company. My letter includes "with performance-based salary increase" or words to that effect--I'll have to confirm.
The letter also promises participation in 401k plan with a 30% match of employee contributions, up to 6% of salary. The company does contribute to the 401k, but not a 30% match of my contribution.
Hope this helps--I'll have to confirm the exact language in my letter tomorrow.
Expert:  Jane T (LLC) replied 5 years ago.

DearCustomer

 

A letter of employment, if it can be said to promise specific benefits or practices an employer will conduct (not which may occur or which are not spcifically promised or guaranteed to occur) may create a contract that an employee may later enforce, perhaps through a court action. Language is very critical, however. For example, a phrase such as "performance based" may be unenforceable as it indicates that it is for an employer to determine what "performance" is due a raise. Unless an employee can show that others with similar performances were given raises then it may be difficult to enforce such a provision. Again, however, langauge is key and the entire contents of a writing, as well, sometimes, as that of other writings such as employee manuals or memorandums, may also come into play regarding the enforceability of a writing.

 

 

Jane T (LLC), Lawyer
Category: Employment Law
Satisfied Customers: 8435
Experience: Worked with employment legal group in major national corp.
Jane T (LLC) and 6 other Employment Law Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I must thank you all for such a positive and knowledgeable Expert in your Employment Law category. She has provided much relief and answers for me in the midst of dealing with a case. I am totally pleased with her customer service and care. Mildred Washington, DC
< Last | Next >
  • I must thank you all for such a positive and knowledgeable Expert in your Employment Law category. She has provided much relief and answers for me in the midst of dealing with a case. I am totally pleased with her customer service and care. Mildred Washington, DC
  • Excellent direction from Socrateaser to help me preserve and pursue my rights as a proud American who has become unemployed in this messed-up economic downfall. Thank you Happy Customer Denver, CO
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
  • My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer. Eric Redwood City, CA
  • I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight. Michael Wichita, KS
  • PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent. Three H. Houston, TX
  • Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!! Elaine Atlanta, GA
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    7759
    JD, BBA, recognized by ABA for excellence.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/multistatelaw/2011-11-27_173951_Tinaglamourshotworkglow102011.64x64.jpg Tina's Avatar

    Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    7759
    JD, BBA, recognized by ABA for excellence.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/marshadjd/2009-6-1_194320_marshajd.jpg Marsha411JD's Avatar

    Marsha411JD

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    10539
    Licensed Attorney with 27 yrs. exp in Employment Law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/NY/nyclawyer/2012-6-7_22011_photo66139201112041.64x64.jpg Infolawyer's Avatar

    Infolawyer

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    9785
    Licensed attorney helping employers and employees.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JA/jaccorpsesq/2011-11-13_21141_JAnewphoto.64x64.jpg Allen M., Esq.'s Avatar

    Allen M., Esq.

    Employment Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    9429
    Employment/Labor Law Litigation
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MI/MILawyer/2011-2-28_0311_JBUprofile.64x64.jpg JB Umphrey's Avatar

    JB Umphrey

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    6273
    Assisting employees and employers for over 14 years.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TU/TUSA/2012-6-6_55219_test.64x64.png Thoreau (T-USA)'s Avatar

    Thoreau (T-USA)

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    2469
    Attorney
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/dkaplun/2009-05-17_173121_headshot_1_2.jpg Dimitry K., Esq.'s Avatar

    Dimitry K., Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    2214
    I provide employment and discrimination law advice in my own practice.