How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Steve G. Your Own Question

Steve G.
Steve G., Electrical Engineer
Category: Electrical
Satisfied Customers: 16933
Experience:  27 years in Electrical Engineering, designing electrical plans and specifications.
329447
Type Your Electrical Question Here...
Steve G. is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

We have 2 GFCI on a wall in the kitchen. During a home inspection

Resolved Question:

We have 2 GFCI on a wall in the kitchen. During a home inspection (we are selling the house) one was identified as having reversed polarity. A handy man came by and said that was probably done on purpose, can someone confirm that this could be true?
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Electrical
Expert:  Steve G. replied 1 year ago.

Hello there and welcome to Just Answer. My name is XXXXX XXXXX I will be assisting you today. I am an engineer with over 30 years of electrical and electronic training, repair and installation experience. I will try and answer your question accurately and precisely so that we can get you on your way.

Did the handy man correct the issue?

Please let me know so that we can continue.

Regards

Steve

Customer: replied 1 year ago.
We plugged my toaster in and it worked fine, so he said not to touch it, that it was probably set up that way on purpose.
Expert:  Steve G. replied 1 year ago.

Sure, reverse polarity is not the end of the world but I can't imagine why it would be done on purpose - most likley the person that wired it simply wasn't paying attention or just didn't understand that the hot wire goes 'here' and the neutral wire goes 'here', so he had them backwards.

You have probably noticed that some appliances have a plug that only goes into the outlet one way because one pin is larger than the other. These are appliances that really would like a correctly polarized outlet - that is why they have one pin larger than the other. It is good practice to have your outlets polarized correctly.

Your appliances will still work, nothing will explode but at some point, it would be good to switch the wires back to where they should be. I'm not sure why your handy man would not have done this unless he is nervous around electricity.

I hope that answers your question. I'll be here if you need further help with this issue. Please let me know.

Regards

Steve

Customer: replied 1 year ago.

so just to clarify, even if we have multiple GFCI on the same wall and the same circuit, they should not have reversed polarity - correct?


 


Also if I wanted to fix this myself I would need to do the following:


1) turn off breaker


2) test outlet to ensure power supply is off


3) pull out receptacle


4) place white wires to silver and back wires to gold


5) replace receptacle and turn power on , check polarity again


 


Am I missing anything with the above steps?

Expert:  Steve G. replied 1 year ago.

Reverse polarity can be limited to a single receptacle or a complete circuit. If you think about it, if you wire one receptacle reversed and then feed other receptacles, those too may be reversed.

So, pull the offending outlet off the wall. Black wires to gold, white wires to silver.

If you pull the GFI off and it is wired correctly but giving you a reversed polarity reading, then you should then look at the other receptacles in that circuit.

Let's cross that bridge if we come to it.

Your steps are correct and you are not missing anything.

I'll be here if you need further help with this issue. Please let me know.

Regards

Steve

Customer: replied 1 year ago.

Thank you very much for your help! I will let you know if I find they are wired correctly but giving an incorrect reading.

Expert:  Steve G. replied 1 year ago.

Ok, I'll be here. If not, I will be emailed.

Now, If I may...the only way I am compensated by this site is if you rate my service using the smiley faces or stars that appear right here on this page. It is works like an eBay or Amazon rating so please consider clicking on one of the better choices :)

It does not close our discussion. We can continue if needed.

I thank you in advance.

Regards

Steve

Steve G., Electrical Engineer
Category: Electrical
Satisfied Customers: 16933
Experience: 27 years in Electrical Engineering, designing electrical plans and specifications.
Steve G. and 4 other Electrical Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • You did one super job of explaining to me everything there is to know about this fridge. I'm looking forward to asking you questions in the future. Jimmy Bagley, IA
< Last | Next >
  • You did one super job of explaining to me everything there is to know about this fridge. I'm looking forward to asking you questions in the future. Jimmy Bagley, IA
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex Los Angeles, CA
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP Hesperia, CA
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin Kernersville, NC
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther Woodstock, NY
  • Thank you so much for taking your time and knowledge to support my concerns. Not only did you answer my questions, you even took it a step further with replying with more pertinent information I needed to know. Robin Elkton, Maryland
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Mike

    Master Electrician

    Satisfied Customers:

    1425
    Licensed Master Electrician - OnQ Certified Data Voice Audio Video Installer
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/mikepettinato/2009-9-4_41145_DSC005132.jpg Mike's Avatar

    Mike

    Master Electrician

    Satisfied Customers:

    1425
    Licensed Master Electrician - OnQ Certified Data Voice Audio Video Installer
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/WI/WireitUp/2012-6-17_18212_Photo00006.64x64.jpg Jason's Avatar

    Jason

    Service Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    3278
    Over 15 years of experience in all types of installations, troubleshooting, and repairs.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MI/MikeG2010/2012-6-7_192640_IMG01612.64x64.jpg Mike G.'s Avatar

    Mike G.

    Master Electrician

    Satisfied Customers:

    5318
    Proven Professional 45 years Experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/AS/AssuredElectrical/2011-9-13_221243_me.64x64.gif AssuredElectrical's Avatar

    AssuredElectrical

    Master Electrician

    Satisfied Customers:

    2149
    Contractor-40 Years in the ElectricalTrade
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/electrifier/2008-12-16_200429_headbob1.jpg electrifier's Avatar

    electrifier

    Master Electrician

    Satisfied Customers:

    1454
    Electrical contractor and electrical inspector for over 24 years with phone and networking expertise
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/rich03dungo/2010-3-17_101556_tshirt2.jpg Rich's Avatar

    Rich

    Master Electrician

    Satisfied Customers:

    1115
    Over 35 years residential, commercial, industrial wiring, install, troubleshoot, service, maintain
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/UR/urelectrician/2012-9-28_223652_JustAnswerPic.64x64.jpg Kevin's Avatar

    Kevin

    Licensed Electrician

    Satisfied Customers:

    993
    27 years as a Licensed Electrical Contractor in Illinois, 5 year college Electrical Instructor, Former Electrical Inspector, Diploma in Digital Electronics, Former Illinois Licensed Home Inspector