How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask -Brad- Your Own Question
-Brad-
-Brad-, Dodge Dealership Tech
Category: Dodge
Satisfied Customers: 6973
Experience:  16 Yrs Chrysler/Dodge Technician. ASE Master Certified(L-1)
10114124
Type Your Dodge Question Here...
-Brad- is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

O2 sensor wire colors up and down stream and where they

Customer Question

O2 sensor wire colors up and down stream and where they connect on new sensors that only have two white wires a black and grey. the connectors burnt off on exhaust. 2001 ram 1500 automatic with 5.9L v8. not california emmisions.
Submitted: 10 months ago.
Category: Dodge
Customer: replied 10 months ago.
the wire colors on front sensor are different colors than on rear sensor.
Expert:  -Brad- replied 10 months ago.

If your referring to the actual O2 sensor wiring between the connector and the sensor then I would highly suggest just replacing the sensor and not wiring it back up.

Customer: replied 10 months ago.
i have new senors but the connectors on them. the problem is both connectors on harness side melted off on pipe and i have four wires for front sensor and four for back. i don't know what color to mate with the white, black and grey that are on new sensors.
no connectors on truck side of harness to connect to new O2 sensors
Expert:  -Brad- replied 10 months ago.

Can I get the last 8 of your VIN to grab a wiring diagram for you?

Customer: replied 10 months ago.
1J214521 sorry cant use phone at moment
Customer: replied 10 months ago.
thats last eight numbers.
Expert:  -Brad- replied 10 months ago.

Sorry for the delay(Lunch)

I attached the wiring diagram for you..

I hope this helps,

Brad

Customer: replied 10 months ago.
thanks ill look at it soon and let you know...
Expert:  -Brad- replied 10 months ago.

Sounds good...

Glad I could help and thank you for the positive rating,

Brad

Expert:  -Brad- replied 10 months ago.

I see you haven't rated yet, do you need more help?

Expert:  -Brad- replied 10 months ago.

I see you haven't rated yet which means I have not been credited for helping. Don't forget to honor your good faith deposit by rating my assistance..

Thank you and have a great day,

Brad