Criminal Law Questions? Ask a Criminal Lawyer.
Hello. I am an attorney with over 20 years of experience and I look forward to assisting you today. Please note: This is general information for educational purposes only and is not legal advice. No specific course of action is proposed herein, and no attorney-client relationship or privilege is formed by speaking to an expert on this site. By continuing, you confirm that you understand and agree to these terms.
So you mean you have been charged, or have you already been convicted?
Please hold on while I review your question and type a response. Thank you.
I see that you don't want a phone call, but we can continue with this chat - okay?
Was the value of the item less than $1,000?
Theft of property in Kansas is a class A misdemeanor if the value of the item was less that $1,000 under Kansas law. (Kan. Stat. Ann. § 21-3701(b)(5), § 21-3704(e)(3).) This is commonly referred to as petty theft. A class A misdemeanor carries up to one year of jail time and/or a fine of no more that $2,500. Since you indicated that you have no prior conviction, you may qualify for pretrial diversion to avoid criminal prosecution and once you compete the program and pay restitution and do community service, the charges would be dropped. I hope this helps.
Your satisfaction is my goal, and I'm happy to answer any follow-up questions you may have.
If you have no further questions, and have not yet done so, please remember to leave a favorable rating (click 5 stars in the rating section on this page) so that I am credited by JustAnswer for assisting you.
There is no additional charge to you for rating me.
A bonus is not required, but is always appreciated.
Do you have any further questions? Were you satisfied with the services I provided to you today?