Criminal Law Questions? Ask a Criminal Lawyer.
I hope this message finds you well, present circumstances excluded. I am a licensed attorney with over a decade of criminal law experience. It is a pleasure to assist you today.
The statute of limitations for most misdemeanors in Arizona is actually 1 year. The statute begins to run at the moment of the offense. This is the case with most criminal offenses, whereas with most civil offenses, the statute of limitations begins to run at the moment of discovery or a reasonable time after the offense occurred.
In the present case, it sounds like the charge should be dismissed with prejudice against you because any applicable statute of limitations would have run. Felonies in Arizona have a 7 year statute of limitations, with the exception of heinous crimes like murder. Since this is not a felony, you are or should be judgment proof here.
Let me know if you have any other questions or comments. Please also rate my answer positively (three or more stars) so I can receive credit for my response.
Just checking to see if you had any additional questions. I want you to be as comfortable as possible moving forward. Thanks!
Just checking in again. This is important to me because it is important to you. Let me know if you have any other questions. Thanks!