Criminal Law Questions? Ask a Criminal Lawyer.
HelloThis is Samuel and I will discuss this and provide you information in this regard.It could be considered and charged as ID Theft. Here is the Florida Statute on that crime and that is a 3rd degree felony.At the very least, the charge could be Harassment. Here is the Florida Statute on that crime and that is also a 3rd degree felony.
But it could be either or both of those crimes. And depending on which one, the penalties are in the codes. For instance, if a misdemeanor
a) For a misdemeanor of the first degree, by a definite term of imprisonment not exceeding 1 year;
(b) For a misdemeanor of the second degree, by a definite term of imprisonment not exceeding 60 days.
Or if they charge and get a conviction as a felony the possible penalties could be
d) For a felony of the second degree, by a term of imprisonment not exceeding 15 years.
(e) For a felony of the third degree, by a term of imprisonment not exceeding 5 years.
It depends on what is charged. And, of course, they need a conviction. A conviction would need the DA to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the person accused did indeed commit the crime
Correct. Or nothing at all. It could be a probation with a suspended sentence. It is a max of 5 years. The sentence may be applied to each conviction separately, yes. If that happens, I suggest, they would run Concurrently. That means that if you get 30 days and 30 days and it runs at the same time then the 30 days would be it. However, it would probably be a probation with suspended sentence. That means if you violate the probation you will serve the time.