Criminal Law Questions? Ask a Criminal Lawyer.
The statute governing sexual assault and aggravated sexual assault in New Jersey is N.J.S.A. 2C:14-2. The classifications of the crimes has not changed. Aggravated sexual assault is a crime in the first degree and sexual assault is a crime in the second degree. In 1997, New Jersey increased an assault on a victim the actor knew or should have known was physically helpless, mentally defective or mentally incapacitated from a sexual assault to an aggravated sexual assault.
The penalties are as follows: (1) In the case of a crime of the first degree, for a specific term of years which shall be fixed by the court and shall be between 10 years and 20 years;(2) In the case of a crime of the second degree, for a specific term of years which shall be fixed by the court and shall be between five years and 10 years;
but in 2005 Notwithstanding the provisions of any other law, a person convicted under this subsection shall be sentenced to life imprisonment, during which time the person shall not be eligible for parole for aggravated sexual assault.
I was wondering if there is something like that for just sexual assault
do you know of any amendments to sentencing for sexual assault in nj