Criminal Law Questions? Ask a Criminal Lawyer.
Hi, if The State of Maine says license suspension of 30 days then does that mean that I CAN'T drive in Mass? Or period, No driving at all? Does my case seem to be serious enough to carry a jail sentence? It's automaticaly 30 days suspension and $575.00 Fine? If I plead Guilty and try for a deferred adjudication and end up having to pay a fine every month then do I have to show up in person to pay? Also, I live a little over 400 miles from the city, would they even allow me to have a deferred adjudication? The computer system will be keeping tabs on me, checking for any wrong doing? I am NOT a rich person so to hire my own lawyer will be a very large strain on my current financial spiral, would going with a court appointed lawyer be ill advised?
Would I be safe in getting a public defender and just asking "If I were to plead guilty, could you request that I receive the minimum fine and penalty?" So I can get all of this behind me because I don't want to have to drive to Maine every month to pay a monthly fine when there's gonna be a lot of snow and ice on the ground. Could they refuse and give me a harsher sentence? I want to just go up there in a few days and bring $1,000 to cover any fee's/ fines. Could that turn out bad doing it that way?
Yes, a public defender is as good as any attorney you could hire privately. The biggest issue is that the public defender just doesn't have as much time to spend with you to get this done.
If you were to plead guilty, you would likely be allowed to pay a fine and not have to return. If they gave you probation, you could likely transfer it to your local probation office and not have to return, etc.
That's where a local attorney can help you as he/she would know what the prosecutor and judge will likely do based on history and get you the best deal.