Criminal Law Questions? Ask a Criminal Lawyer.
Hi. It will be my pleasure to assist you with your question today.
Thank you for requesting me. I'll check this out and get right back to you.
Sorry that took a while. NV has one of the strictest registration laws that I've seen.
Nevada law NRS 179D.460 requires that each offender or sex offender who, after July 1, 1956, is or has been convicted of a crime against a child or a sexual offense shall register with a local law enforcement agency pursuant to the provisions of the section, basically within 48 hours after arriving or establishing a residence. The section requires only that the offender be present in the state for 48 hours to be deemed a resident offender or sex offender.
Under NRS 179D.210 a “Crime against a child” means any of the following offenses if the victim was under 18 when the offense was committed:
(1) kidnapping, unless the offender is the parent of the victim;
(2) false imprisonment, unless the offender is the parent of the victim;
(3) an offense involving pandering or prostitution;
(4) an attempt to commit an offense listed in (1) through (3) above;
(5) an offense committed in another jurisdiction that, if committed in Nevada, would be a crime against a child;
(6) an offense against a child committed in another jurisdiction, whether or not the offense is listed in (1) through (5) above, if the offender resides or has resided or is or has been a student or worker in any jurisdiction in which he or she has been required by the laws of that jurisdiction to register as an offender who has committed a crime against a child because of the offense.
Because the misdemeanor WA offense might be considered both a “crime against a child” and a sexual offense then registration would be required. Also, it would seem that if the person were required to register in any state between the conviction in WA and the entry into Nevada, the person would be required to register in Nevada within 48 hours.
For a first offense the failure to register is a category D felony punishable by a minimum of 1, not more that 4 years in state prison, and a fine up to $5000., probation is available.
Please feel free to ask any follow up questions.
DISCLAIMER: Answers from Experts on JustAnswer are not substitutes for the advice of an attorney. JustAnswer is a public forum and questions and responses are not private or confidential or protected by the attorney-client privilege. The Expert above is not your attorney, and the response above is not legal advice. You should not read this response to propose specific action or address specific circumstances, but only to give you a sense of general principles of law that might affect the situation you describe. Application of these general principles to particular circumstances must be done by a lawyer who has spoken with you in confidence, learned all relevant information, and explored various options. Before acting on these general principles, you should hire a lawyer licensed to practice law in the jurisdiction to which your question pertains.
The responses above are from individual Experts, not JustAnswer. The site and services are provided “as is”. To view the verified credential of an Expert, click on the “Verified” symbol in the Expert’s profile. This site is not for emergency questions which should be directed immediately by telephone or in-person to qualified professionals. Please carefully read the Terms of Service (last updated February 8, 2012).