How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask RobertJDFL Your Own Question
RobertJDFL, Lawyer
Category: Criminal Law
Satisfied Customers: 11967
Experience:  Experienced in multiple areas of the law.
Type Your Criminal Law Question Here...
RobertJDFL is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

How long can a state or county in Maine take to prosecute a

This answer was rated:

How long can a state or county in Maine take to prosecute a DUI/OUI

Thank you for your question today.

DUI/OUI is considered a Class D offense in Maine. Under Title 17 of the state statutes, a prosecution for a Class D offense must occur within 3 years of the time the alleged crime was committed. Thus, they have 3 years in which to charge an individual, though typically they would do so much sooner.

RobertJDFL and other Criminal Law Specialists are ready to help you

Related Criminal Law Questions