I am in the state of Georgia. Unfortunately I received 2 DUIs within 2 1/2 weeks of each other in September of 2011. Other than those occurrences, I had a clean driving record.
The State of Georgia has passed "Senate Bill 236, which was signed into law by Gov. Nathan Deal on April 16, modifies Article 3, Chapter 5 of Title 40 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated (OCGA) as well as Article 7 of Chapter 8 of Title 42. These articles reference punishment for drivers arrested for DUI and govern ignition interlock devices, which prevent offenders from driving while drunk."
For 2 time offenders within the past 5 years (me) it reads:
"Starting on Jan. 1, 2013 these offenders will automatically serve a 120 day hard suspension of their driving priviliges, followed by permission to get a ignition interlock limited permit provided the offender can show proof of the following:
1. That he or she has completed a DUI Alcohol or Drug Risk Reduction program;
2. That he or she has completed a clinical evaluation and enrolled in a substance abuse treatment program approved by the Department of Human Services or is enrolled in a drug court
3. That he or she has installed an ignition interlock device in any vehicle that he or she will be operating; and
4. That he or she obtains a certificate of eligibility for an ignition interlock limited driving permit or probationary license from the court that sentenced the person for the conviction that resulted in the suspension."
I have so far had my license suspended for the 120 days and have a court paper saying I can get my license back on September 25th, 2013; a year to the day after my sentencing and plea. This date is because it was before this new law went into effect. I was hoping under this new law to get that date changed to be able to drive with an ignition-interlock license ASAP. However, I called the DDS and was told since I received my DUI before the law was signed into effect, July 1, I was not eligible for this law.
My question is this; I did not plead guilty nor was sentenced until September 25th, 2012. What is the case? You have to be merely ARRESTED for DUI (which I was in Sept, 2011) or found GUILTY of DUI after that July 1, 2012 date? I need help understanding the technicalities of this new law.