How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask TexCrimLawyer, J.D. Your Own Question

TexCrimLawyer, J.D.
TexCrimLawyer, J.D., Lawyer
Category: Criminal Law
Satisfied Customers: 3759
Experience:  Experienced in state and federal criminal litigation.
45002201
Type Your Criminal Law Question Here...
TexCrimLawyer, J.D. is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

If someone filed a criminal complaint for statutory rape 15

Resolved Question:

If someone filed a criminal complaint for statutory rape 15 years ago, but the charges were dropped, would there still be a record of that filing now? How do I go about finding that record?
Submitted: 2 years ago.
Category: Criminal Law
Expert:  TexCrimLawyer, J.D. replied 2 years ago.

TexCrimLawyer, J.D. :

Was the person ever arrested?

Customer:

no - the report was filed by the parent and the girl refused to testify against the man

TexCrimLawyer, J.D. :

Other than the police report, there is no record created.

TexCrimLawyer, J.D. :

There would not be anything available if someone did a background check on you.

TexCrimLawyer, J.D. :

Only arrest and the court process is available as part of a person's criminal history.

TexCrimLawyer, J.D. :

The fact that a complaint was made is only kept by the police department.

Customer:

would the police department still have a record of the report? I really need to be able to dig up this report if at all possible.

Customer:

I did one of those internet background reports and did not find it. But i did not go to the city/county and microfish anything

TexCrimLawyer, J.D. :

The police department should have kept a copy of the report. If you want to find our for sure you can make an open records request to the police department and ask for it.

Customer:

do police departments destroy records after a certain amount of time or do they simply file them away - I forgot what it is called.

Customer:

archives

TexCrimLawyer, J.D. :

It really depends on the policies of each department. In my experience, records are usually destroyed after 10 years if no action was taken, but each department can have its own records retention policies.

Customer:

so do I go to the department and ask to see the microfilms or do I fill out paperwork or what? I know approximately what month in 97.

Customer:

hope my luck is with me and they have archived it

TexCrimLawyer, J.D. :

Call the police department first and ask about their open records act procedures. Each department should have a contact person for open records act questions. They will be able to point you to their forms and procedures.

Customer:

thanks so much. will do

TexCrimLawyer, J.D. :

Glad to help. Can I do anything else for you?

Customer:

not for the moment. maybe after i check records.

TexCrimLawyer, J.D. :

OK. If you want to direct questions to me in the future, you can do so by putting "this question is for TexCrimLawyer" in the title. If I can't do anything else for you right now, remember to rate my answer.

TexCrimLawyer, J.D., Lawyer
Category: Criminal Law
Satisfied Customers: 3759
Experience: Experienced in state and federal criminal litigation.
TexCrimLawyer, J.D. and 4 other Criminal Law Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Your Expert advise has provided insight on a difficult situation. Thank you so much for the prompt response. I will definitely recommend your website to my friends. Norma Pensacola, FL
< Last | Next >
  • Your Expert advise has provided insight on a difficult situation. Thank you so much for the prompt response. I will definitely recommend your website to my friends. Norma Pensacola, FL
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
  • My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer. Eric Redwood City, CA
  • I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight. Michael Wichita, KS
  • PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent. Three H. Houston, TX
  • Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!! Elaine Atlanta, GA
  • It worked great. I had the facts and I presented them to my ex-landlord and she folded and returned my deposit. The 50 bucks I spent with you solved my problem. Tony Apopka, FL
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Fran L.

    JustAnswer Criminal Law Mentor

    Satisfied Customers:

    8061
    18 yrs of NYC public defense. Extensive arraignment, hearing, trial experience.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RE/retiredlawyer/2012-6-6_19326_franL.64x64.jpg Fran L.'s Avatar

    Fran L.

    JustAnswer Criminal Law Mentor

    Satisfied Customers:

    8061
    18 yrs of NYC public defense. Extensive arraignment, hearing, trial experience.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RA/ratioscripta/2012-6-13_2955_foto3.64x64.jpg Ely's Avatar

    Ely

    Counselor at Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    2079
    Private practice with focus on family, criminal, PI, consumer protection, and business consultation.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/NA/nathanmoorelaw/2011-5-31_21375_headshotbig.64x64.jpg Nate's Avatar

    Nate

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    1625
    Over 10 years of criminal defense practice.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/LA/LawTalk/2012-6-6_17379_LawTalk.64x64.JPG LawTalk's Avatar

    LawTalk

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    1434
    30 years legal experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PH/philip.simmons/2012-6-7_161915_BIGPhilipSimmons.64x64.jpg P. Simmons's Avatar

    P. Simmons

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    1418
    16 yrs. of experience including criminal law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/marshadjd/2009-6-1_194320_marshajd.jpg Marsha411JD's Avatar

    Marsha411JD

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    1380
    Licensed attorney with 27 yrs. exp. in criminal law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RO/RobertJDFL/2012-6-6_175352_7538220120606.64x64.jpg RobertJDFL's Avatar

    RobertJDFL

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    1300
    Experienced in multiple areas of the law.