How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask LawTalk Your Own Question
LawTalk
LawTalk, Lawyer
Category: Criminal Law
Satisfied Customers: 37373
Experience:  30 years legal experience
15277592
Type Your Criminal Law Question Here...
LawTalk is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I recently found out my daughter was molested by her stepfther

This answer was rated:

I recently found out my daughter was molested by her stepfther 24 years ago in another state what can be done
Good afternoon,

What state did it occurr in?
Customer: replied 6 years ago.
Louisiana
Good afternoon,

I'm sorry to hear of your daughter's dilemma.

While you daughter only had one year after he 18th birthday to file a civil complaint against her step father and seek damages, the SOB can still be criminally prosecuted. In Louisiana the statute of limitations for oral sex, molestation,statutory rape or incest of a minor is 30 years after the minor turns 18 years of age.

She can, and should, file a criminal complaint with the police.

I wish you and your daughter the best in 2010.

Thank you very much for having allowed me to assist you. Please, remember that I only receive credit for helping you when you Accept my answers. Until then your payment is simply held on deposit. So, please click the ACCEPT icon. Thanks again.

Doug

LawTalk and 2 other Criminal Law Specialists are ready to help you

Related Criminal Law Questions