Criminal Law Questions? Ask a Criminal Lawyer.
An OWI charge - first offense - is a misdemeanor under Michigan Law. http://www.legalwins.com/michigan_criminal_expungement.php
The statute of limitations for a misdemeanor is 6 years. This means that you can be charged up to 6 years after the alleged crime for violating the law.
Here are the OWI laws for Michigan: