Section 13-1203, the Arizona Statute reads as follows:A. A person commits assault by:
1. Intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causing any physical injury to another person
2. Intentionally placing another person in reasonable apprehension of imminent physical injury; or
3. Knowingly touching another person with the intent to injure, insult or provoke such person.
B. Assault committed intentionally or knowingly pursuant to subsection A, paragraph 1 is a class 1 misdemeanor
A class 1 misdemeanor in Arizona is punishable by up to 6 months in jail and a $2500 fine plus surcharges. Howevever, if this is your first contact with the criminal justice
system, it is unlikely that you will end up going to jail for this offense. Nevertheless, criminal cases can have lifetime consequences, so you should retain a criminal lawyer for your court appearance and have him with you on your first court appearance. If you're unable to afford private counsel, you can ask the court for a public defense attorney. What you would want, ideally, would be to come out of this matter able to avoid jail but also without having a criminal conviction on your record.
Your first court appearance should be your arraignment on these charges. That is, the court will read the charge against you into the court record and ask you how you plead. It is customary at that time for all defendants to plead not guilty.
That's because a not guilty plea can be withdrawn at any time a defendant wants to change his mind and take a deal. But once he pleads guilty, it's almost impossible to get a guilty plea back. So pleading not guilty is the only way a defendant gets to keep all of his rights and choices open to him while he decides whether to take a plea bargain of some sort or to move the case in the direction of a trial
Generally, on the first date, there will be some offer made by the prosecutor. Your lawyer should be able to tell you the up and down sides of taking that offer and assist you with your decision. As this matter is a domestic violence
case, your daughter will probably get a restraining order, and you will be told to have no contact with her during the pendency of the case. No contact means NO CONTACT. Failure to abide by that sort of court order, can cause you to be charged with the offense of violating a court order of protection. That would give you another charge to fight.
Your daughter may forgive you, but the case doesn't go away until the judge says it does, and the state can continue to press charges against you even if your daughter becomes very sorry that she involved the police and the courts. So follow the order, even if the two of you make up, because if you don't and she gets angry at you again, you'll get arrested.
If I've helped, please click the green Accept button so I can get credit for my work.
This thread will not close and you can always use it to get clarification.This is informational only and is NOT legal advice. There is no attorney-client relationship. You are advised to consult an attorney in your state for specific legal advice.