How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Jack R. Your Own Question
Jack R.
Jack R., Lawyer
Category: Criminal Law
Satisfied Customers: 6147
Experience:  OHIO//Texas Attorney Civil/Crimnal Practice
Type Your Criminal Law Question Here...
Jack R. is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

class 1 misdemeanor i got it for my 3rd dui 3 years ago and

Resolved Question:

class 1 misdemeanor
i got it for my 3rd dui 3 years ago and i have been told that i can not own a firearm anymore
Submitted: 6 years ago.
Category: Criminal Law
Expert:  Jack R. replied 6 years ago.

Pennsylvania lists specifically that any individual who has 3 dui convictions may not own a weapon if the convictions occur within a 5 year period. Since the last conviction occurred 3 years ago, if the first conviction was prior to Nov 2004 you can get purchase a weapon, barring some other restriction you fail to meet.



Section 6105(c)(3).

A person who has been convicted of driving under the influence on three or more separate occasions within a five-year period is prohibited from purchasing but not possessing a firearm. Section 6105(c)(3).


If you found this answer informational please press the ACCEPT button so I can get credit for my work.


All comments are provided for informational purposes only. A local attorney should be contacted for specific legal advice.

Jack R. and 4 other Criminal Law Specialists are ready to help you

Related Criminal Law Questions