By reading further, you agree to and understand the following: Laws vary drastically by state and country. It is impossible for an attorney to provide proper legal advice on JustAnswer and what follows is not legal advice and is general information provided for educational purposes only. No attorney-client relationship is formed. T-USA is not your attorney. No attorney-client privilege exists and anything written can be used in court if discovered by an opposing party. The following information is provided for the purpose of encouraging you to seek, in person, the counsel of an attorney who is licensed to practice law in your particular state. It is essential to consult such an attorney as soon as possible. _____________________________________ Answer The best way to determine whether or not charges would be filed would be to contact the local police and/or the prosecutor's office. If the crime happened years ago, it is quite possible that all evidence of the crime may have been destroyed or lost. If the evidence has been destroyed or lost, charges will generally not be pursued.It sounds as though the business was burglarized. Aggravated burglary occurs when someone is armed during a burglary (including when someone arms himself after entering the building). In New Mexico, aggravated burglary is a second degree felony. Second degree felonies have a 6 year statute of limitations in New Mexico.Arson can be charged in numerous ways. The statute of limitations is longer for more serious charges.Petty Misdemeanor (property destroyed is less than $250)1 year statute of limitations.Misdemeanor (property destroyed exceeds $250 but is less than $500)2 year statute of limitations.Fourth Degree Felony (property destroyed exceeds $500 but is less than $2,500)5 year statute of limitations.Third Degree Felony (property destroyed exceeds $2,500 but is less than $20,000).5 year statute of limitations.Second Degree Felony (property destroyed exceeds $20,000)6 years statute of limitations. Please click the green Accept Button to accept my answer so I will receive credit for the time and effort I have spent answering your question. Bonuses are greatly appreciated. You should consult an attorney who is licensed to practice in your state about these matters. You can find an attorney licensed to practice law in your state through your state's lawyer referral services: http://www.abanet.org/legalservices/lris/directory/ In the future, please feel free to ask questions of me personally at: http://www.justanswer.com/profile.aspx?PF=18048122&FID=0
DISCLAIMER: Answers from Experts on JustAnswer are not substitutes for the advice of an attorney. JustAnswer is a public forum and questions and responses are not private or confidential or protected by the attorney-client privilege. The Expert above is not your attorney, and the response above is not legal advice. You should not read this response to propose specific action or address specific circumstances, but only to give you a sense of general principles of law that might affect the situation you describe. Application of these general principles to particular circumstances must be done by a lawyer who has spoken with you in confidence, learned all relevant information, and explored various options. Before acting on these general principles, you should hire a lawyer licensed to practice law in the jurisdiction to which your question pertains.
The responses above are from individual Experts, not JustAnswer. The site and services are provided “as is”. To view the verified credential of an Expert, click on the “Verified” symbol in the Expert’s profile. This site is not for emergency questions which should be directed immediately by telephone or in-person to qualified professionals. Please carefully read the Terms of Service (last updated February 8, 2012).