How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask AttySince1978 Your Own Question
AttySince1978
AttySince1978, Lawyer
Category: Criminal Law
Satisfied Customers: 931
Experience:  Attorney since 1978, former Judge Pro Tem, former S.F. Police Officer
12441927
Type Your Criminal Law Question Here...
AttySince1978 is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

What is the statue of limitations for check fraud in Georgia

Resolved Question:

What is the statue of limitations for check fraud in Georgia? How about credit card fraud? about 2-5 years ago my son took 4K then 5K from my checking account and another 3k of charges on my credit cards. He was just picked up again on some other charges and I am ready to "throw the book at him" [email protected] I don't have a lot of money so 10$ is all I can afford.
Submitted: 7 years ago.
Category: Criminal Law
Expert:  AttySince1978 replied 7 years ago.
The Statute of Limitations normally starts when you realize that a wrong has been committed against you. The police normally use it once they write a police report and then get a warrant for a person's arrest.
The police could just refuse to take the report because too much time has passed and they may say that you must go after your son civilly. In other words, the police just outright refuse to take a criminal report because of the long delay by you in contacting them.
However, the Statute of Limitations for this type of crime is normally 5 years, after which you can lose your rights. With the amount of money involved, your son could be looking at a felony charge which is quite serious. A felony means that your son can be sentenced to a prison greater than 1 year. A misdemeanor means that the most serious sentence must be less than 1 year in jail. There is quite a difference between the two. The District Attorney normally makes the decision what type of crime a person will be charged with based upon the facts of the case and what he thinks he will be able to prove. Many cases are reduced from a felony down to a misdemeanor as part of a plea bargain.
I trust that I have answered your question. Therefore click ACCEPT so that I can receive the credit for my legal work. Let me know if you have any additional questions.
Thank you and good luck.
AttySince1978 and other Criminal Law Specialists are ready to help you