Thank you for the additional information.
by shoplifting is a misdemeanor
when the value of the merchandise is $300 or less. This is described in Section 16-8-14 of the Georgia Code.
Section 17-10-3 of the Georgia Code is the penalty section for misdemeanors:
The penalty is:
(a) Except as otherwise provided by law, every crime declared to be a misdemeanor shall be punished as follows:
(1) By a fine not to exceed $1,000.00 or by confinement in the county or other jail, county correctional institution, or such other places as counties may provide for maintenance of county inmates, for a total term not to exceed 12 months, or both.
I'm assuming this is a first offense misdemeanor shoplifting. If you have prior convictions for shoplifting, please see section 16-8-14 (in the link provided above) for mandatory penalties imposed by law. Otherwise, the judge has discretion with respect to the $1,000 fine and the 12 months jail time, i.e., he/she does not have to sentence
the defendant to the maximum amounts.
Hope this helps, and good luck.