How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Lawmoe Your Own Question
Lawmoe
Lawmoe, Criminal Defense Lawyer
Category: Criminal Law
Satisfied Customers: 2415
Experience:  More than 19 years of experience as a Criminal Defense Lawyer
3560666
Type Your Criminal Law Question Here...
Lawmoe is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

if you have a warrant in georgiabut arrestedin another state

Resolved Question:

if you have a warrant in georgiabut arrestedin another state ,andgerogiaputs a hold on you how long isthat hold for before that states has to release you?
Submitted: 8 years ago.
Category: Criminal Law
Expert:  Lawmoe replied 8 years ago.

Each state has their own extradition law. MMost use a Uniform Act. In most states, the timeline is 60 days. THe state that holds the person is not specified, but the Georgial statute is below.

 

Georgia Code Title 17, Chapter 13 deals with extradition. The time line is 60 days.

 

§ 17-13-37. Procedure where accused not arrested within time specified in warrant


If the accused is not arrested under warrant of the Governor by the expiration of the time specified in the warrant or bond, a judge or magistrate may discharge him or may recommit him for a further period not to exceed 60 days, or a judge or magistrate may again take bail for his appearance and surrender as provided for in Code Section 17-13-36, but within a period not to exceed 60 days after the date of such new bond.

 

Please click ACCEPT below

Lawmoe and other Criminal Law Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 8 years ago.
no what i am asking is my son is already injail under a new chrage but georgia has a hold onhim and he is in another state so howlong can the n ew state hold him for because i was told fto 10 days