Criminal Law Questions? Ask a Criminal Lawyer.
The maxiumum penalty is 6 months in jail and a $1000 fine. The minimum fine is $250.
But you have a defense if you did not have actual notice of the suspension and New York didn't send you the appropriate notice. You should retain an attorney (or apply for the public defender if you can't afford one) to defend you in court and ensure the best outcome possible for you.
I would recommend that before you go to court on this, you pay the outstanding fines in New York to get your license reinstated if you haven't yet. That will make a more favorable impression on the court if you have cleared that up.