How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Infolawyer Your Own Question
Infolawyer, Lawyer
Category: Consumer Protection Law
Satisfied Customers: 53569
Experience:  Licensed attorney helping individuals and businesses.
Type Your Consumer Protection Law Question Here...
Infolawyer is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Is there a grace to get out of a lease on a car if I

This answer was rated:

Is there a grace period to get out of a lease on a car if I have not taken delivery of the vehicle and did not put the required amt down for the transaction whick was supposed to be 800 and I only gave them 100
Hello, did you sign a contract and if so, when? also what state was the sale in?
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

Yes I did sign a contract and asked the dealer if I cahange my mind can we cancel the deal and get my 100 dollars back and he said that he would do that for me

When was it signed and what state is this in? From what you mentioned, you have a common law right to cancel based on seller misrepresentations to you.
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

It was signed a couple of hours ago

In what state?
Customer: replied 2 years ago.


he FTC's three-day cooling-off period applies to sales of goods priced at $25 or more. It does not apply to sales of real estate, insurance, securities, or emergency home repairs. In Massachusetts, there are similar three-day rights for door-to-door sales. There are also statutes providing a three-day right to rescind for second mortgages, timeshares, health club contracts, and home improvement contracts. Here you have a right to cancel based on seller misrepresentations. Is the answer acceptable?
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

the does this include car leases

Unfortunately Massachusetts like the majority of all states, does not give the consumer a three day right to cancel when it comes to new or used vehicle purchases. However, you have a right to cancel based on seller misrepresentation, fraud and breach by telling you that you could cancel at time of sale on which you relied. Best of luck. Kindly click on a positive rating.
Infolawyer and 6 other Consumer Protection Law Specialists are ready to help you

Related Consumer Protection Law Questions