How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Infolawyer Your Own Question

Infolawyer
Infolawyer, Lawyer
Category: Consumer Protection Law
Satisfied Customers: 50742
Experience:  Licensed attorney helping individuals and businesses.
11313492
Type Your Consumer Protection Law Question Here...
Infolawyer is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

In federal court (ERISA case) I filed a complaint, defendants

Resolved Question:

In federal court (ERISA case) I filed a complaint, defendants filed motions to dismiss, I filed an amended complaint (judge then dismissed all motions to dismiss as moot) and now defendants time to answer or otherwise respond is almost up. I am expecting new motions to dismiss, so how long do I have to respond to the motions, 14 days? Also, does one of the parties have to request a motion hearing on these or are they automatically ruled on?
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Consumer Protection Law
Expert:  Infolawyer replied 1 year ago.

INFOLAWYER :

Hello and thank you for the question.

INFOLAWYER :

You would have 14 days by default, but the court will often set a briefing schedule

INFOLAWYER :

you may also agree with the moving side on a schedule

INFOLAWYER :

the court typically will take the motion and decide it on papers

INFOLAWYER :

if you want oral argument, you may request it

INFOLAWYER :

the court will decide if it wants oral argument

INFOLAWYER :

some judges schedule it as needed and it can vary from judge to judge

INFOLAWYER :

so best to check on oral argument and briefing schedule with the judge's clerk and if published, the judge's individual rules

INFOLAWYER :

I trust the answer is fast and clear, and would ask that you rate it positively

Customer:

So 14 days to respond to any answer / motion filed on an amended complaint just like an original complaint?

INFOLAWYER :

Yes

INFOLAWYER :

but

INFOLAWYER :

often the court will give more time

INFOLAWYER :

through briefing schedule

INFOLAWYER :

30 days is quite common

INFOLAWYER :

Good luck!!

Customer:

Briefing conference = rule 16(b) scheduling and planning conference? We have one set but not till 8/26/13. Answers are due on 7/31/13.

INFOLAWYER :

which the court can set and usually will set when motion is filed

INFOLAWYER :

schedule for the motion

INFOLAWYER :

No

INFOLAWYER :

if judge's clerk doesnt do it automatically you may inquire about dates

INFOLAWYER :

Is the answer acceptable?

Customer:

You lost me. The judge will set a briefing conference after the motions are filed but before the response is due? And is the rule 16(b) conference different from the briefing conference?

INFOLAWYER :

16b conference is on the case as a whole

INFOLAWYER :

but on the motion, the court will usually set dates for opposition and reply soon after motion is filed

INFOLAWYER :

so I would reach out to the clerk and find out if the judge will do that on the pending motion

INFOLAWYER :

Hope that clarifies it

Customer:

OK, I'll give that a shot thanks

Infolawyer, Lawyer
Satisfied Customers: 50742
Experience: Licensed attorney helping individuals and businesses.
Infolawyer and 2 other Consumer Protection Law Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
< Last | Next >
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
  • My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer. Eric Redwood City, CA
  • I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight. Michael Wichita, KS
  • PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent. Three H. Houston, TX
  • Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!! Elaine Atlanta, GA
  • It worked great. I had the facts and I presented them to my ex-landlord and she folded and returned my deposit. The 50 bucks I spent with you solved my problem. Tony Apopka, FL
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Infolawyer

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    5518
    Licensed attorney helping individuals and businesses.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/NY/nyclawyer/2012-6-7_22011_photo66139201112041.64x64.jpg Infolawyer's Avatar

    Infolawyer

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    5518
    Licensed attorney helping individuals and businesses.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RA/ratioscripta/2012-6-13_2955_foto3.64x64.jpg Ely's Avatar

    Ely

    Counselor at Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    2620
    Private practice with focus on family, criminal, PI, consumer protection, and business consultation.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/LA/lawpro/2012-6-25_171315_PT206740s.64x64.jpg Law Pro's Avatar

    Law Pro

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    1711
    20 years experience in consumer advocacy, debt collection violations, contracts, construction
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/multistatelaw/2011-11-27_173951_Tinaglamourshotworkglow102011.64x64.jpg Tina's Avatar

    Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    1415
    16 years legal experience including consumer protection law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FL/FLAandNYLawyer/2012-1-27_14349_3Fotolia25855429M.64x64.jpg FiveStarLaw's Avatar

    FiveStarLaw

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    1160
    25 years of private practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/mnphillips2/2009-03-13_203105_10984459-249293407.jpeg Phillips Esq.'s Avatar

    Phillips Esq.

    Attorney-at-Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    1065
    B.A.; M.B.A.; J.D.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BA/barristerinky/2012-6-10_22423_office.64x64.jpg Barrister's Avatar

    Barrister

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    1023
    Attorney with 14 years experience in various consumer protection areas