How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask J.Hazelbaker Your Own Question

J.Hazelbaker
J.Hazelbaker, Lawyer
Category: Consumer Protection Law
Satisfied Customers: 4385
Experience:  Extensive experience with contract, debtor/creditor, and consumer law.
15393114
Type Your Consumer Protection Law Question Here...
J.Hazelbaker is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

There are thousands of complaints against Direct TV, do you

Customer Question

There are thousands of complaints against Direct TV, do you know if the better business bureau is doing any thing about it. I am currently being ripped off by them. Thank you
Submitted: 4 years ago.
Category: Consumer Protection Law
Expert:  J.Hazelbaker replied 4 years ago.

The BBB complaint process is voluntary. Other than bad publicity, there's not much the BBB can do to enforce complaints.

 

There are a few things you can do that can bring more pressure on Direct TV, other than spending the time, energy and money suing them yourself.

 

First, you should file an online complaint with the Indiana Attorney General. You can do so at the following link:

 

http://www.indianaconsumer.com/consumer_complaint.asp

 

Second, you can file an online complaint with the Federal Trade Commission. You can do so at the following link:

 

http://www.indianaconsumer.com/consumer_complaint.asp

 

These complaints will result in investigations being opened, if they have not already. If they have been opened, then the more complaints, the more likely significant steps will be taken and restitution be made available to the consumers.

 

Finally, there has been a class action lawsuit filed against Direct TV for various wrongdoings. You may be covered as a member of the class. Here's a link that provides a starting point for investigating that:

 

http://hometheater.about.com/b/2008/02/26/consumer-alert-class-action-lawsuit-filed-against-directv.htm

 

 

Please let me know, if you have follow-up questions.

 

The information is provided for discussion and entertainment purposes only. I believe in helping people and answering their questions and providing information and solutions. To encourage and facilitate this practice, it is understood and agreed by the recipient that by opening, reading, accepting, and viewing this information, no attorney-client relationship has been discussed, agreed to or otherwise established. It is understood that by posting to this site, your information is made public and no attorney-client confidence is created or possible.

 

In legal matters, time is of the essence. As such, you should contact an experienced lawyer right away to protect your legal rights!

 

I appreciate your "Accepting" my answer if it has been helpful to you. Doing so allows me to continue helping in this manner. Thank you.

J.Hazelbaker, Lawyer
Satisfied Customers: 4385
Experience: Extensive experience with contract, debtor/creditor, and consumer law.
J.Hazelbaker and 15 other Consumer Protection Law Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 4 years ago.
Thank you very much, Now I have a good starting point that I wouldn't have even knew about if it wasn't for your information.
Expert:  J.Hazelbaker replied 4 years ago.

You are welcome. Thank you for the Accept.

 

Please don't hesitate to ask follow-up questions, should they arise as you explore your options.

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
< Last | Next >
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
  • My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer. Eric Redwood City, CA
  • I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight. Michael Wichita, KS
  • PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent. Three H. Houston, TX
  • Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!! Elaine Atlanta, GA
  • It worked great. I had the facts and I presented them to my ex-landlord and she folded and returned my deposit. The 50 bucks I spent with you solved my problem. Tony Apopka, FL
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Infolawyer

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    5518
    Licensed attorney helping individuals and businesses.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/NY/nyclawyer/2012-6-7_22011_photo66139201112041.64x64.jpg Infolawyer's Avatar

    Infolawyer

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    5518
    Licensed attorney helping individuals and businesses.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RA/ratioscripta/2012-6-13_2955_foto3.64x64.jpg Ely's Avatar

    Ely

    Counselor at Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    2620
    Private practice with focus on family, criminal, PI, consumer protection, and business consultation.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/LA/lawpro/2012-6-25_171315_PT206740s.64x64.jpg Law Pro's Avatar

    Law Pro

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    1711
    20 years experience in consumer advocacy, debt collection violations, contracts, construction
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/multistatelaw/2011-11-27_173951_Tinaglamourshotworkglow102011.64x64.jpg Tina's Avatar

    Tina

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    1415
    16 years legal experience including consumer protection law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FL/FLAandNYLawyer/2012-1-27_14349_3Fotolia25855429M.64x64.jpg FiveStarLaw's Avatar

    FiveStarLaw

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    1160
    25 years of private practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/mnphillips2/2009-03-13_203105_10984459-249293407.jpeg Phillips Esq.'s Avatar

    Phillips Esq.

    Attorney-at-Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    1065
    B.A.; M.B.A.; J.D.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BA/barristerinky/2012-6-10_22423_office.64x64.jpg Barrister's Avatar

    Barrister

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    1023
    Attorney with 14 years experience in various consumer protection areas
 
 
 

Related Consumer Protection Law Questions