Hello. My name is***** to JustAnswer. I'm reviewing your question now, and will post back with your reply momentarily.
Usually files are left intact with a system restore. Not full restore, but to a previous date. Only the programs
you downloaded would be affected and have to be reinstalled if you restore back to a point you have not
downloaded the programs yet.
Have you tried a system restore to see if there is a point 'BEFORE' the critical update before you keep trying
to back up the copies and they are immediately destroyed?