Yes, follow these steroids please.
With back up & sync turned on, you can delete local copies from your device but keep cloud copies saved in your Google Photos library.
Let me know if this does not work and we can try another solution.
Please reply and let me know if you need any other assistance or if everything is good, take a moment to rate my service by choosing one of the stars at the top, then click submit.
Thank you very much!