How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Robert M. Your Own Question

Robert M.
Robert M., Consultant
Category: Computer
Satisfied Customers: 8938
Experience:  30 yrs. in NYC computer industry working with PC and networks, banks, brokerage, legal etc.
23372949
Type Your Computer Question Here...
Robert M. is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I just recently downloaded windows 10. A couple of weeks ago

Customer Question

I just recently downloaded windows 10. A couple of weeks ago a upgrade came through on friday. Now I cant download or upload. I just get a error that says I must have a administrator password ***** do any changes. I never put in a administrator password, But it says I have to have one, but it wont let me put in one. How do I find out what the administrator password ***** is in my machine.
Robert Stowell***@******.***
Submitted: 10 months ago.
Category: Computer
Expert:  Robert M. replied 10 months ago.
reboot the machinemake sure that you log in with an account that has admin rightsthen try using your normal password ***** a blank password.
Expert:  Robert M. replied 10 months ago.
you can also try restoring to a time before the problem started System restore instructions - windows 7 8 10hold the windows logo key and hit Rin the box that appears typerstrui.exehit enter select restore to an earlier date. Under the "suggested restore" which is usually not old enough to help is a link for "OTHER RESTORE POINTS"click that if the suggested ones are not BEFORE THE PROBLEM STARTEDchoose a date from the calendar that is BEFORE you experienced the problemhit ok / restorethe computer will start to shut down a restoring settings box will appear with a status barwhen it finishes your computer will restart with the same settings it had on the date you restored to. your data will not be affected. It is not perfect. But it fixes a lot of things.