Hi, and welcome to Just Answer. My name is XXXXX XXXXX X will be assisting with your question.
Could you please provide some more details regarding the data in question? Why do you want to restore your computer to a previous date?
I see. Can you not delete the buggy data you transferred from the old laptop? What sort of data are they? Please give specifics.
Also, if you want, you can restore the Toshiba laptop back to factory settings. This would erase everything from the laptop (so you would need to backup the data that you want) and restore your laptop back to the same condition when you first got it. Do you want to do this?
Thanks for the clarification.
Ok, let's try the system restore option first to restore your computer to a date before the issue.
Please go to Start > All Programs > Accessories > System Tools > System Restore > Choose a different restore point, then restore your system back to a date and time prior to when you started having this issue with Windows Live Mail.
Restart thereafter, and let me know if this resolves your issue all right.
If the system restore doesn't complete successfully for some reason, just let me know.
That's good then. First of all, try deleting the data files in question manually from the location that you saved them to. Alternatively, if you want to remove everything comprehensively and restore it to factory condition, please proceed below.
Ok, Important Note - Please backup any files in your laptop that you don't want to lose, in an external location such as an external hard drive, flash drive, disk, etc. If you don't have any important files on this laptop, then proceed below.
Then, follow the steps below to recover your system to factory settings:
If the computer is running, shut it down.
Press and hold the 0 (zero) key on your keyboard and then press the computers power switch. When the computer turns on, the Toshiba HDD Recovery Utility screen will appear, presenting three options. Press 1 to restore your hard disk drive to its original factory default state. A confirmation message will appear, indicating that all data will be overwritten and lost during the restore process.
Click Yes to begin the recovery. A message will appear once the operation is finished, indicating the HDD has been restored.
Press any key to restart the computer.
Let me know how you get on.