How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Super Mechanic Your Own Question

Super Mechanic
Super Mechanic, Master technician
Category: Chevy
Satisfied Customers: 13193
Experience:  29 yrs. exp., ASE master, cert. in G.M. electrical, a/c, susspension, brakes, electronic steering
2947720
Type Your Chevy Question Here...
Super Mechanic is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

2002 Chevy Cavalier: inspection..an OBD code of P0440..Malfunction

Resolved Question:

I have a 2002 Chevy Cavalier that just failed an emmissions inspection due to an OBD code of P0440-Evaporative Emission Control System Malfunction. Is there anyway to troubleshoot what is signaling this code without paying an arm and a leg for diagnositcs work?
Submitted: 5 years ago.
Category: Chevy
Expert:  Super Mechanic replied 5 years ago.

Hello and welcome to Just answer.com, Super mechanic here. About your vehicle.

 

There has been a service bulletin isued for that code. I have run into this before, also the wires comming out of the connector. That would bethe first thing to check. Here is what the bulletin states.

 

Emissions - SES Lamp ON/DTC P0440 (EVAP) Set
Notes

File In Section: 06 - Engine/Propulsion System

Bulletin No.: 02-06-04-044

Date: August, 2002

TECHNICAL

Subject:
Service Engine Soon (SES) Light Illuminated, DTC P0440 Set (Replace Fuel Tank Evaporative Emissions Control System (EVAP) Vent Solenoid Harness)

 

Models:
2000-2002 Chevrolet Cavalier
2000-2002 Pontiac Sunfire

 

Condition

Some customers may comment that the SES light is/was illuminated.

A technician may find DTC P0440 is stored in the PCM.

Cause

The EVAP solenoid harness may be misrouted around the rear antilock brake (ABS) wire harness causing a chaff/damage to the EVAP vent solenoid harness, setting DTC P0440.

Correction

Follow the service procedure below to diagnose and correct this condition.

1.Install a Tech 2 scan tool and select the appropriate vehicle. Verify that a DTC P0440 is stored in the PCM.

 

2.Raise the vehicle on a hoist. Refer to Lifting and Jacking the Vehicle in General Information (SI Document ID # XXXXX).

 

graphic

 

Locate and inspect the EVAP vent solenoid harness (3) routing. The harness may be routed below the ABS wiring harness (4) at the right rear corner of the fuel tank, causing stress on the EVAP solenoid harness (3).

 

 

graphic

 

4.Disconnect the EVAP vent solenoid harness (3) from the EVAP vent solenoid (2) and connector C313 (1). Discard the EVAP vent solenoid harness (3).

 

5.Connect the new EVAP vent solenoid harness (3), P/N 22687059, to the EVAP vent solenoid (2), route the harness above the rear ABS harness (4) and connect the EVAP vent solenoid harness (3) to connector C313 (1).

 

6.Lower the vehicle.

 

7.Clear the DTC's with the Tech 2 scan tool.

 

 

If all of the wires are good you will want to check for any leaks in the evap system.

Super Mechanic, Master technician
Category: Chevy
Satisfied Customers: 13193
Experience: 29 yrs. exp., ASE master, cert. in G.M. electrical, a/c, susspension, brakes, electronic steering
Super Mechanic and 5 other Chevy Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I was having a terrible problem with the wheel bearings on my 98 Chevy Cavalier and I suspect that using this website saved me plenty of time and money. Todd L Rochester NY
< Last | Next >
  • I was having a terrible problem with the wheel bearings on my 98 Chevy Cavalier and I suspect that using this website saved me plenty of time and money. Todd L Rochester NY
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex Los Angeles, CA
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP Hesperia, CA
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin Kernersville, NC
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther Woodstock, NY
  • Thank you so much for taking your time and knowledge to support my concerns. Not only did you answer my questions, you even took it a step further with replying with more pertinent information I needed to know. Robin Elkton, Maryland
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Tim's Auto Repair

    mechanic

    Satisfied Customers:

    7641
    Have owned a repair shop for 25 yrs.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TI/tim37857/2011-10-28_23053_S6301814.64x64.JPG Tim's Auto Repair's Avatar

    Tim's Auto Repair

    mechanic

    Satisfied Customers:

    7641
    Have owned a repair shop for 25 yrs.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DT/dt69nova/2012-6-15_234154_pic1.64x64.jpg Dave Nova's Avatar

    Dave Nova

    Chevrolet Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    6870
    ASE Master Certification. GM World Class Certification
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/ggrote1/2009-06-27_031011_me.jpg Gary's Avatar

    Gary

    Chevy Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    5404
    15 years GM master tech
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/testedtuff/2009-09-26_170108_pictures.jpg John's Avatar

    John

    Master A.S.E Automotive technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    4071
    A.S.E MasterTechnician A1-A8 w/L1,38 years experience General Motors Master Technician
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RO/rodcuda/2011-7-25_224114_Donhoff1.64x64.JPG Neal's Avatar

    Neal

    Chevy Mechanic

    Satisfied Customers:

    2306
    Shop Owner and Mechanic on multiple makes.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/goodwrench9124/2008-11-09_220838_dscf0007.jpg goodwrench9124's Avatar

    goodwrench9124

    ASE Certified Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    2041
    Ase Master Certified, GM Master Certified Tech. Awarded GM Top performer, Hybrid certified
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/drivefast1971/2012-1-12_172422_0009051tQKh.64x64.jpg Ron Z.'s Avatar

    Ron Z.

    - Chevy Tech -

    Satisfied Customers:

    1912
    18+yrs experience. State Inspector and Chevy Diagnostics