How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Ashik Your Own Question

Ashik
Ashik, Cellphone Tech
Category: Cell Phones
Satisfied Customers: 9927
Experience:  Experience with iPhone and other Smartphones
16433418
Type Your Cell Phones Question Here...
Ashik is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Under settings, Messages, Message story, Keep Messages... it

Customer Question

Under settings, Messages, Message History, Keep Messages... it allows three options, 30 days which the drop down states "Delete Older Messages? This will permanently delete all text messages and message attachments from your device that are older than 30 days." Then it has a "delete" button or cancel...does it mean that if I choose the 30 day option I can retrieve a deleted message for up to thirty days and if so, I wouldn't be able to retrieve them on my iphone and see them on this device, correct? what is the purpose of this function? I would like to think that once I delete a text it remains deleted immediately.
Submitted: 11 months ago.
Category: Cell Phones
Expert:  Ashik replied 11 months ago.

Hi and Welcome. My Name is ***** ***** I look forward to assisting you today with your question.

That means all the messages and attachments which are older than 30 days or more will be deleted automatically. iPhone does this for you automatically. This is more like an automatic cleaning process. If you manually delete any messages regardless of the age, they will be deleted permanently and can't be recovered.

If you have any questions or would like any additional information, please don't hesitate to ask

Expert:  Ashik replied 11 months ago.

Even the messages that are deleted after 30 days will be permanently deleted and you wouldn't be able to see them on the device.