what are the requirement to become a preschool teacher in Oregon?
spoke with boss/ head-teacher at certified preschool I have been working at for the past 3 years as a teaching assistant. Also searched the internet but both sourced didn't have clear answers.
Hi, I’m a Moderator for this topic and I wonder whether you’re still waiting for an answer. If you are, please let me know and I will do my best to find a Professional to assist you right away. If not, feel free to let me know and I will cancel this question for you. Thank you!
Hello, you are finding unclear answers because it is very likely that the requirements are company specific. For instance one preschool may require certification or a degree and another may just require a number of years of experience. In the state of Oregon you can teach preschool without certification or a degree in some centers. It is not like elementary or secondary education where a degree and license is required. You may on the other hand find that specific schools require their preschool teachers to be certified in my opinion and understanding this is more of a selling tactic to the parents rather than a state requirement. Three years is a lot of experience in the field of preschool education, you should be able to start looking for jobs and you may inquire if they would assist you in obtaining certification while you are working for a school as a teacher.
If you found my answer helpful please remember to accept as this is the only way I am compensated for my time. I am happy to answer any additional questions.
Thank you for your response it has helped to clear away some on the uncertainty. In addition to the 3 years experience at the preschool I have just completed my AA in elementary education. The preschool that I currently work at has been wanting to bump me up from teaching assistant to teacher but we have not been able to determine if I have the proper qualifications or not. Based on the additional information I have provided do you have more insight or guidance? Any thing would help. Thank you for your time :)
You are fine, it is my understanding that in the state of Oregon you can teach with just 20 credit hours in early childhood education or 1 year qualified teaching experience. You may direct your preschool administrator to the government required qualification listed at the bottom of this website..... http://www.oregon.gov/EMPLOY/CCD/ratio_tables.shtml
It should help clear up any confusion they may have. Congrats on your promotion and good luck with your teaching job!
BSBA from UCF, PHR Certified, Member of SHRM