Ask a Career Counselor for Answers ASAP
Hi - I need a little more information. What did you buy and how long have you had the items you purchased? Pennsylvania law doesn't have a mandatory law for merchandise returns.
Most stores have their return and exchange policies posted in the front of the store or nearby at the cash/computer register. They also post their return/exchange policies on the receipt. Keep all of your receipts, as they will be useful in the return/exchange process. Most stores (online and offline) have a 7, 10, 14 or 30 return or exchange policy. Remember merchants will take back merchandise that is new and in saleale condition. They normally refund you the same way (credit card, cash, etc) that you paid for the item. If you paid for it by check, they may require you to wait 14 days until the check clears before they issue a refund. And alot of the shops also have limitations on the amount of money they will refund if you purchase items with cash, travelers checks or a personal check. For example, Walmart will refund you the amount up to $100 if paid in cash, and anything amount above $100, the corporate office in Arkansas mails you a check, normally within 21 days of the refund claim. If you purchased something, and when you get home the item is broken, you should call the store and report it. Almost all of the stores will exchange defective merchandise. The only things they won't back would be perishable foods, underwear, baby formula and sometimes medicine.
If you've lost your receipt and want to return items purchased from that store, sometimes the merchant will give you a gift certificate, store credit or gift card to purchase items of equal value in their store in lieu of refunding because you have lost your receipt. Sometimes you're stuck with the item if the store is not willing to give you a store credit.
Depending on what you purchased, i.e. rug or furniture, big ticket electronic items in stores like Best Buy and Circuit City will state that they will charge you a restocking fee for returns within a certain time limit. Think of it this way, once you purchase something, the item is yours, even if you've had it for five minutes, especially items that do not have packaging. And you purchased it "new", so when you return it a store for a return, you are returning used merchandise, thus the store can not sell it as "new". The restocking fee is most likely the merchandise depreciation from the sale. This may also apply to online and mail order items. Check with the merchant to further clarify. If they do not have a return policy or it is not posted the following rule would apply.
Many years ago, the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) adopted the law in regards XXXXX XXXXX return of merchandise and services. Here is the link to the website http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/pubs/consumer/alerts/alt037.pdf. If you think that you have been defrauded by the merchant in any way, and you've tried to work it out with them but it was unsuccessful, you can file a complaint with the FTC directly on their website - http://www.ftc.gov.
There is also a plethora of information on the FTC website regarding consumer protection (http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/index.shtml) and click on "Consumer Protection". On the FTC website you will also find information regarding the "lemon laws" which pertain to the purchase of pre-owned/used vehicles. In addition, there is a law that protects you from making irrational decisions, maybe originating from a high pressure sale and the merchant must give you the a 3 day cancellation policy (example, signing up for a home loan or signing to be a Mary Kay representative, etc) receipt. That law says that you have a 3 day cancellation policy to reconsider your decision without a penalty.
I realize that is a lot of information but I hope it helps you to become an informed shopper.
PLEASE CLICK THE GREEN ACCEPT BUTTON SO THAT I MAY GET CREDIT FOR MY ANSWER.
If you any other questions, feel free to write again.