How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask AMD Your Own Question

AMD
AMD, Master Technician
Category: Car
Satisfied Customers: 2724
Experience:  L1 Advanced Level Diagnostics Specialist
65953032
Type Your Car Question Here...
AMD is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Hi shopping rear brake rotors and pads. Id like an opinion

Resolved Question:

Hi shopping rear brake rotors and pads. I'd like an opinion on Aimco disc rotors - Super Premium vs Extreme Service also. I will either get those or the Raybestos which I think have a good reputation.

I'd like an advice also on the Raybestos pads - the regular ceramic pads vs the premiums vs the super premiums

Thanks
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Car
Expert:  AMD replied 1 year ago.

AMD :

Hello and thank you for trusting us with your Car question, My name is XXXXX XXXXX I will be assisting you today.

AMD :

May I know the year,make and model of your vehicle?

Customer:

2005 murano

AMD :

OK Before we go into the brands you've mentioned, Have you considered original pads and rotors?

Customer:

no you think I should

AMD :

To be honest I would. Raybestos pads and rotors are good but they are no match for originals.

AMD :

The dust level they create and the longevity is much better with originals Especially when it comes to rotors.

AMD :

I've seen after market rotors warp so quickly after buying it is unbelievable.

AMD :

If you are OK paying the original prices which I can help with I would go original

AMD :

Let me get you some prices so we can compare, Is that OK?

Customer:

hum I'm in Canada so let me call the dealer one sec

AMD :

Get the part numbers off of the dealership. We can find better prices online. Just give them the VIN number and have them give you the part numbers.

Customer:

hum no I won't get into that

Customer:

The car is for only a year or two so

AMD :

So you want to discuss after market options?

Customer:

Do you know the Aimco

Customer:

s

AMD :

Yes Amicos are good rotors, Super premium or extreme service didn't really make a difference. I would go with extreme service. They seem to be the least prone to warpage and rusting.

AMD :

Now for pads raybestos are good. Use ceramic pads. They dust alot but they are the closest to originals and they are queit.

AMD :

Did you have any other questions for me?

Customer:

Ok thanks. How about the Raybestos rotors vs the Aimcos

AMD :

I would go Raybestos rotors and pads.

Customer:

ok which pads the reg ceramics, prem ceramics, or super prem ceramics

AMD :

Go prem ceramics. They are not the cheapest ones and are typically used by most shops with good results.

Customer:

ok thanks

AMD :

You're welcome

AMD, Master Technician
Category: Car
Satisfied Customers: 2724
Experience: L1 Advanced Level Diagnostics Specialist
AMD and 16 other Car Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

Do you know the brand WBR in rotors and pads?

Expert:  AMD replied 1 year ago.
Hello,

I don't know that brand.

Other brands that I have experience with are ac delco, wagner and beck arnley they are all good but raybestos would be my personal pick from the bunch.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

ok thanks. Can you relist this last one on WBR or I can ask a 'new' question maybe

Expert:  AMD replied 1 year ago.
I can do some research on those pads and get back to you, Would that be OK?
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

ok that will do take your time I don't really need the answer today

Expert:  AMD replied 1 year ago.
Thank you. I will get back to you shortly. I am making some contacts to my sources to verify the quality of this brand for you. Thank you.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

great

Expert:  AMD replied 1 year ago.
Hello again,

So I did some research for you on the WBR brand products for you. Actually that is a very good brand however they make metallic and ceramic pads, Make sure you get the ceramic. The only issue with that brand are the prices. They are a bit pricey which makes you think why not just get the originals for an extra 10-15 dollars. Unless you find them for a good price then I see no reason why not go original pads which is the best pad for your car.

If you find it for a good price then go with ceramic pads and that's a good brand.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

Ok great one last question related to this.


 


I tell you the prices I can get here you tell me what would be your combination ok :


 


Aimco rotor extreme service : $22


Raybestos rotor : $49


WBR rotor : $38


 


Raybestos ceramic pads set : $39


Raybestos prem ceramic pads set : $58


Raybestos super prem ceramic pads set : $70


Akebono pads set : $80


 


Let's say for a 3 year life spand with the car.


 


Thanks a lot


 


 

Expert:  AMD replied 1 year ago.
Hello,

I would go with wbr rotors and raybestos prem ceramic pads.

The regular ceramic pads from raybestos can be noisy down the road because its not as pure as the prem ceramics
AMD, Master Technician
Category: Car
Satisfied Customers: 2724
Experience: L1 Advanced Level Diagnostics Specialist
AMD and 16 other Car Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I would (and have) recommend your site to others I was quite satisfied with the quality of the information received, the professional with whom I interacted, and the quick response time. Thanks, and be sure that I'll be back whenever I need a question answered in a hurry. Stephanie P Elm City, NC
< Last | Next >
  • I would (and have) recommend your site to others I was quite satisfied with the quality of the information received, the professional with whom I interacted, and the quick response time. Thanks, and be sure that I'll be back whenever I need a question answered in a hurry. Stephanie P Elm City, NC
  • used your service this weekend with "Trecers" help. thank you ,thank you, thank you. replaced an A/C fan motor. Local Auto Zone had part. $15.00 "tracer" fee and $40.00 for parts, I saved several hundreds of dollers at a shop. i will recommend you and use you in the future. David L. Richmond, TX
  • 9 dollars, 2 hours of my time, and I drove away. Your diagnosis was right on the mark. Thank you so much. Phil Marysville, CA
  • Lurch. Thank you very much. I had real doubts about this website but your promptness of response, quick followup and to the point answer with picture was incredible. Charles Walnut Creek, CA
  • As a single woman, I really appreciate an excellent and affordable opinion.
    Thank you Geordie, I will not hesitate to contact justanswer in the future!
    Sue Charleston, WV
  • Another great insight to what may be the problem. I will have my mechanic take a look at it tomorrow. Thanks again, Frank...you do indeed know your stuff. Jim Castleberry, FL
  • Excellent reply, and also very quick. Really sounds like the Expert knows what he is talking about. I will be back to use your service when I need more help with my RV. Dutch USA
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Chris (aka-Moose)

    Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    846
    16 years of experience
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/muddyford/2012-6-13_1204_1.64x64.png Chris (aka-Moose)'s Avatar

    Chris (aka-Moose)

    Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    846
    16 years of experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TE/TedG/2012-6-15_14759_avaLarge.64x64.jpg Ted G.'s Avatar

    Ted G.

    ASE Certified Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    1596
    20 years auto repair experience, ASE Master Tech, Mechanical Failure consultant, Expert Witness
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/joecamel90/2008-11-13_03615_head_shot.jpg George H.'s Avatar

    George H.

    ASE Certified Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    1311
    ASE Master Tech 15+ yrs, AAS Automotive Technology, Factory trained Asian specialist
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/AM/amedee/2013-10-24_23656_Amedee1.64x64.jpg Amedee's Avatar

    Amedee

    ASE Master Tech

    Satisfied Customers:

    2367
    ASE Master Tech advanced level specialist
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/SU/supermechanic/2013-8-23_03546_500.64x64.jpg Jerry's Avatar

    Jerry

    Master Mechanic

    Satisfied Customers:

    1906
    ASE master, 30+ years. All makes and models. Trouble shooter, shop forman, service manager
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/CR/crzydrvr00/2013-11-3_12123_246347.64x64.jpg Richard's Avatar

    Richard

    ASE Certified Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    942
    12 years Ford Lincoln/Mercury Jaguar dealership as a technician and shop foreman reparing all makes
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/ST/Steve7654/2012-6-5_215929_japic800x660.64x64.jpg Steve's Avatar

    Steve

    Auto Service Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    1980
    25+ yrs experience as a professional working technician; ASE L1 master technician