How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask John Your Own Question

John
John, Master Automotive Technician
Category: Car
Satisfied Customers: 9176
Experience:  ASE A1-A8 & L1 Master GM Tech 40 years experience
Type Your Car Question Here...
John is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

My car failed inspection because the odometer reading

Customer Question

my car failed inspection because the odometer reading stopped working .How can I fix it?
Submitted: 6 years ago.
Category: Car
Expert:  John replied 6 years ago.

HelloCustomer

In this case you will need to replace the instrument cluster.Here is a list of certified GM electronics repair shops.

Authorized ESC

Location

Website

AER Technologies

Brea, CA

www.aertech.com

AJR International

Elmhurst, IL

www.gmexchanges.com

Autocraft Electronics

Carrollton, TX

www.autocraft.com

Instrument Sales & Service

Kent, WA

www.issgm.com

Model Electronics

Ramsey, NJ

www.modelelectronicsinc.com

Specmo Enterprises

Madison Heights, MI

www.specmo.com

Techni-Car, Inc.

Oldsmar, FL

www.techni-car.com

John, Master Automotive Technician
Category: Car
Satisfied Customers: 9176
Experience: ASE A1-A8 & L1 Master GM Tech 40 years experience
John and 12 other Car Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 6 years ago.
Reply to John's Post: Iwas told that there is a plug that might have come lose? is this possible?
Expert:  John replied 6 years ago.
The cluster is connected in the rear,you will need to pull it out to gain access.The circuits are all in one connector,if the connector had come loose all the cluster would stop working,but you can check it.
Customer: replied 6 years ago.
what is the cluster near
Expert:  John replied 6 years ago.

This is the unit that houses your speedometer & the gages.I am sending some info to help you.This particular one may have 2 plugs,design change.

Instrument Cluster Replacement (Left Hand Drive)

Removal Procedure


    Object Number: 878779  Size: SH

  1. Disable the SIR System.
  2. Remove the screws from the DLC connector and steering filler panel.
    Object Number: 866299  Size: SH

  3. Remove hood release cable from lever.
  4. Remove steering column filler panel.
    Object Number: 903722  Size: SH

  5. Disconnect ignition switch electrical connector at right steering column bolt.
  6. Remove steering column bolts and lower column on front seat.
    Object Number: 904866  Size: SH

  7. Remove fasteners and pull instrument cluster trim bezel rearward at clip locations.
  8. Disconnect electrical connector from instrument panel dimmer switch.
    Object Number: 904867  Size: SH

  9. Remove connector position assurance (CPA) devices and disconnect electrical connectors from instrument panel cluster assembly by squeezing tabs on each side of connector.
    Object Number: 904869  Size: SH

  10. Remove front and rear instrument panel cluster assembly screws.
  11. Remove instrument panel cluster assembly.

Installation Procedure

  1. Install instrument panel cluster assembly.
  2. Install and tighten instrument panel cluster assembly screws.
    Object Number: 904867  Size: SH

  3. Connect electrical connectors to I/P cluster assembly.
  4. Install CPA devices.
    Object Number: 904866  Size: SH

  5. Connect electrical connector to I/P dimmer switch.
  6. Install instrument cluster trim bezel. Push in at clip locations.
  7. Install push pin fasteners.
    Object Number: 903722  Size: SH

  8. Raise steering column into position.
  9. Install and torque bolts.

    Tighten
    Tighten bolts to 35 N·m (26 lb ft)

  10. Connect ignition switch electrical connector at right steering column bolt.
    Object Number: 866299  Size: SH

  11. Install hood release cable to lever.
    Object Number: 878779  Size: SH
Customer: replied 6 years ago.
where is the speed sensor module
Expert:  John replied 6 years ago.
Are you asking about the vehicle speed sensor ?
Customer: replied 6 years ago.
Reply to John's Post: where is the speed sensor module?
Expert:  John replied 6 years ago.
The "speed sensor module" is an integerated part of the PCM(powertrain control module).

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I would (and have) recommend your site to others I was quite satisfied with the quality of the information received, the professional with whom I interacted, and the quick response time. Thanks, and be sure that I'll be back whenever I need a question answered in a hurry. Stephanie P Elm City, NC
< Last | Next >
  • I would (and have) recommend your site to others I was quite satisfied with the quality of the information received, the professional with whom I interacted, and the quick response time. Thanks, and be sure that I'll be back whenever I need a question answered in a hurry. Stephanie P Elm City, NC
  • used your service this weekend with "Trecers" help. thank you ,thank you, thank you. replaced an A/C fan motor. Local Auto Zone had part. $15.00 "tracer" fee and $40.00 for parts, I saved several hundreds of dollers at a shop. i will recommend you and use you in the future. David L. Richmond, TX
  • 9 dollars, 2 hours of my time, and I drove away. Your diagnosis was right on the mark. Thank you so much. Phil Marysville, CA
  • Lurch. Thank you very much. I had real doubts about this website but your promptness of response, quick followup and to the point answer with picture was incredible. Charles Walnut Creek, CA
  • As a single woman, I really appreciate an excellent and affordable opinion.
    Thank you Geordie, I will not hesitate to contact justanswer in the future!
    Sue Charleston, WV
  • Another great insight to what may be the problem. I will have my mechanic take a look at it tomorrow. Thanks again, Frank...you do indeed know your stuff. Jim Castleberry, FL
  • Excellent reply, and also very quick. Really sounds like the Expert knows what he is talking about. I will be back to use your service when I need more help with my RV. Dutch USA
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Chris (aka-Moose)

    Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    846
    16 years of experience
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/muddyford/2012-6-13_1204_1.64x64.png Chris (aka-Moose)'s Avatar

    Chris (aka-Moose)

    Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    846
    16 years of experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TE/TedG/2012-6-15_14759_avaLarge.64x64.jpg Ted G.'s Avatar

    Ted G.

    ASE Certified Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    1596
    20 years auto repair experience, ASE Master Tech, Mechanical Failure consultant, Expert Witness
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/joecamel90/2008-11-13_03615_head_shot.jpg George H.'s Avatar

    George H.

    ASE Certified Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    1311
    ASE Master Tech 15+ yrs, AAS Automotive Technology, Factory trained Asian specialist
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/AM/amedee/2013-10-24_23656_Amedee1.64x64.jpg Amedee's Avatar

    Amedee

    ASE Master Tech

    Satisfied Customers:

    2367
    ASE Master Tech advanced level specialist
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/SU/supermechanic/2013-8-23_03546_500.64x64.jpg Jerry's Avatar

    Jerry

    Master Mechanic

    Satisfied Customers:

    1906
    ASE master, 30+ years. All makes and models. Trouble shooter, shop forman, service manager
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/CR/crzydrvr00/2013-11-3_12123_246347.64x64.jpg Richard's Avatar

    Richard

    ASE Certified Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    942
    12 years Ford Lincoln/Mercury Jaguar dealership as a technician and shop foreman reparing all makes
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/ST/Steve7654/2012-6-5_215929_japic800x660.64x64.jpg Steve's Avatar

    Steve

    Auto Service Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    1980
    25+ yrs experience as a professional working technician; ASE L1 master technician