How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask CalAttorney2 Your Own Question
CalAttorney2
CalAttorney2, Attorney
Category: California Employment Law
Satisfied Customers: 10238
Experience:  Civil litigation attorney for individuals and businesses.
71563194
Type Your California Employment Law Question Here...
CalAttorney2 is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

If someone in California just works a 2.5 hour shift, is it

Customer Question

If someone in California just works a 2.5 hour shift, is it the law that you have to pay them for 4 hours?
Submitted: 9 months ago.
Category: California Employment Law
Expert:  CalAttorney2 replied 9 months ago.

Dear Customer,

There is no minimum number of hours that an employer must schedule an employee for in a shift (so if your employer has scheduled you for 2.5 hours, that is all that they must pay you).

However, if you are scheduled for a longer shift (for example an 8 hour shift), and the employer sends you home after 2.5 hours because they are overstaffed, then you are entitled to 4 hours pay for "reporting hours." See: http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/faq_reportingtimepay.htm

Related California Employment Law Questions