California Employment Law
California Employment Law Questions Answered by Legal Experts
Hello,You opened a new Q&A session concerning the issue in this Q&A. I have closed that new session, and I will respond to you here, given that you never paid for this Q&A. You asked:
A: I think you may have misunderstood my previous answer. Pleae permit me to clarify.
State law requires employers to authorize rest periods of specified minimum duration (generally 10 minutes of paid rest for every 4 hours worked). 8 Cal. Code Regs. §§ 11010–11150 ¶ 2 and § 11160 ¶ 1. Rest periods are to be permitted in the middle of the shift “insofar as practicable.” See 8 Cal. Code Regs. § 11010 ¶ 12(A).
Additionally, employees who work more than 5 hours in a day are entitled to a meal period of at least 30 minutes; and a second meal period of at least 30 minutes if they work more than 10 hours in a day. Cal. Labor Code § 512(a).
In other words, over an eight-hour shift, you are entitled to two 10 minutes rest breaks (no more -- no less) -- plus one 30 minute meal break. That gives you three separate opportunities to use the rest room during an eight-hour shift.
If you use the restroom more than three times during an eight-hour shift, your employer can discipline or fire you from your job.
There is an exception to the above: If you have a medical condition that requires you to use the restroom more than three times during an eight-hour shift, your physician is willing to certify your condition to your employer, and you make a written request to your employer that you receive "reasonable accommodations" for your disability. Then, if the employer refuses to grant you a fourth restroom break, then you can file a complaint with DFEH. Cal. Govt. Code, Title 2, Division 3, Part 2.8.
For more info on your rights to reasonable accommodations for a physical disability, see this link. To file a disability discrimination complaint, see this link.
I hope that I have successfully clarified your rights and obligations under California law.
YOU ANSWERED ME THAT IF AN EMPLOYEE GOES TO THE BATHBROOM 3 TO 4 TIMES A DAY, THIS WILL SATISFY THE 2 (TEN) MINUTES BREAKS AS REQUIRED IN CALIFONIA LABOR LAW. DO YOU HAVE AN ARTICLE OR CITE THAT I CAN SEE , WHICH THIS EXPLAIN IT. BEFORE I GET IN TROUBLE. THANKS
DISCLAIMER: Answers from Experts on JustAnswer are not substitutes for the advice of an attorney. JustAnswer is a public forum and questions and responses are not private or confidential or protected by the attorney-client privilege. The Expert above is not your attorney, and the response above is not legal advice. You should not read this response to propose specific action or address specific circumstances, but only to give you a sense of general principles of law that might affect the situation you describe. Application of these general principles to particular circumstances must be done by a lawyer who has spoken with you in confidence, learned all relevant information, and explored various options. Before acting on these general principles, you should hire a lawyer licensed to practice law in the jurisdiction to which your question pertains.
The responses above are from individual Experts, not JustAnswer. The site and services are provided “as is”. To view the verified credential of an Expert, click on the “Verified” symbol in the Expert’s profile. This site is not for emergency questions which should be directed immediately by telephone or in-person to qualified professionals. Please carefully read the Terms of Service (last updated February 8, 2012).