How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Joseph Your Own Question

Joseph
Joseph, Lawyer
Category: California Employment Law
Satisfied Customers: 4515
Experience:  Extensive experience representing employees and management
Type Your California Employment Law Question Here...
Joseph is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I have been named in a child protective services complaint

Resolved Question:

I have been named in a child protective services complaint slightly over a month ago. Is there any way I can seek speedy attention to that claim?
Submitted: 2 years ago.
Category: California Employment Law
Expert:  DUSLaw replied 2 years ago.
Hello,
Thank you for allowing us to assist you with this problem.

In what state were you named?

Are you the parent of the child?

Is there a court action pending?
Customer: replied 2 years ago.
My screen went black did you get my earlier transmission?
Expert:  DUSLaw replied 2 years ago.
No. I am still awaiting the necessary information to answer your question.
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

Sorry about that. I was explaining, I am in California. I am a Licensed
Educational Psychologist and independent contractor for Leadership Public Schools based in San Jose, CA. I was testing a 14 year old 5 month girl. In the context of the student suggesting that she was being bullied by some students and not wanting to work with her special education teachers, I said to her, What do you plan to do sit on my lap and laughed rather loudly. It was a rhetorical question, not an invitation. I meant to say that she could not sit idlely by, she should go to the Dean of the school and report the bullying and she should word with her sp. educ. teachers. The next day Feb 2 (2012), I was informed by my employer that the young lady had gone to the Dean and said that I had asked her to sit on my lap. I was suspended from working further with any other students.

 

Since Feb 2, I have not been contacted by anyone from Child Protective Services. I am not aware of any pending court action.

Customer: replied 2 years ago.

I should have added that when I was notified on Feb. 2nd of my suspension from further duties, I was notified that the Dean had phoned in the complaint on the basis of twhat the young lady had said.

 

My question is what recourse do I have? As long as CPS does not ask me for a statement or resolves what their decision is, I can't work. Can I ask to make a statement or request to be questioned in a speedy manner.

Expert:  DUSLaw replied 2 years ago.
This is more of an Employment Law question and not Family Law. I will ask to have your question posted in the correct section.

Do not respond to this post because that will delay someone from assisting you.
Expert:  Joseph replied 2 years ago.
Hello.

Other than calling Child Protective Services and requesting to make a statement, there is no other way to get a speedy resolution to the claim for employment purposes.

Unfortunately, as a state agency, Child Protective Services is understaffed, and it may take months prior to them completing investigation into a claim of child endangerment.

Joseph, Lawyer
Satisfied Customers: 4515
Experience: Extensive experience representing employees and management
Joseph and other California Employment Law Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
< Last | Next >
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
  • My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer. Eric Redwood City, CA
  • I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight. Michael Wichita, KS
  • PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent. Three H. Houston, TX
  • Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!! Elaine Atlanta, GA
  • It worked great. I had the facts and I presented them to my ex-landlord and she folded and returned my deposit. The 50 bucks I spent with you solved my problem. Tony Apopka, FL
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • LawTalk's Avatar

    LawTalk

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    907
    I have 30 years of experience in the practice of law, including employment law and discrimination law.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/LA/LawTalk/2012-6-6_17379_LawTalk.64x64.JPG LawTalk's Avatar

    LawTalk

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    907
    I have 30 years of experience in the practice of law, including employment law and discrimination law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MU/multistatelaw/2011-11-27_173951_Tinaglamourshotworkglow102011.64x64.jpg Tina's Avatar

    Tina

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    816
    JD, 16 years experience & recognized by ABA for excellence in employment law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PI/PIExpert/2012-7-1_152453_Attorney.64x64.jpg Brandon, Esq.'s Avatar

    Brandon, Esq.

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    314
    Has received a certificate of recognition from the California State Senate for his outstanding legal service.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PH/phoenixrising119/2012-7-26_11214_043.64x64.jpg melissamesq's Avatar

    melissamesq

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    47
    Represent clients to maximum recovery in employment cases.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/IG/Iggy1001/2013-11-20_23344_JApic.64x64.jpg Joseph's Avatar

    Joseph

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    2993
    Extensive experience representing employees and management
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JK/jkiani22/2013-11-18_15348_JacobKiani1copy2.64x64.jpg jkiani22's Avatar

    jkiani22

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    20
    Attorney
  • /img/opt/shirt.png Legal Counsel's Avatar

    Legal Counsel

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    32
    California Licensed Attorney- 29 years- Wages, Hours, Overtime, Discrimination, Wrongful Termination.