The finance company said that under California Vehicle Code, they have to be notified within 15 days. Is there a difference between the California DMV Motor vehicle Code and the one you are quoting? or are they the same.
The quote above is from the California CIVIL CODE SECTION 3067-3074 The finance company is mistaken. You do not have to inform them of anything. After 15 days the lien is automatic. If they contact you again just send the code section I provided above. Here is a link to the whole statute: http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=civ&group=03001-04000&file=3067-3074
Please accept my answer with a rating of 3 or better so I may get credit for my response. If you have follow up questions please ask.
DISCLAIMER: Answers from Experts on JustAnswer are not substitutes for the advice of an attorney. JustAnswer is a public forum and questions and responses are not private or confidential or protected by the attorney-client privilege. The Expert above is not your attorney, and the response above is not legal advice. You should not read this response to propose specific action or address specific circumstances, but only to give you a sense of general principles of law that might affect the situation you describe. Application of these general principles to particular circumstances must be done by a lawyer who has spoken with you in confidence, learned all relevant information, and explored various options. Before acting on these general principles, you should hire a lawyer licensed to practice law in the jurisdiction to which your question pertains.
The responses above are from individual Experts, not JustAnswer. The site and services are provided “as is”. To view the verified credential of an Expert, click on the “Verified” symbol in the Expert’s profile. This site is not for emergency questions which should be directed immediately by telephone or in-person to qualified professionals. Please carefully read the Terms of Service (last updated February 8, 2012).