How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Law Educator, Esq. Your Own Question

Law Educator, Esq.
Law Educator, Esq., Attorney
Category: Business Law
Satisfied Customers: 88315
Experience:  All corporate law, including non-profits and charitable fraternal organizations.
Type Your Business Law Question Here...
Law Educator, Esq. is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

i know its hard to say without reviewing the agreement but

Resolved Question:

i know its hard to say without reviewing the agreement but mainly it had to do with the fact that the franchisor breached my terriotory by only 75 feet 14 years ago my contract expired . and i used that to help myself not to have to renew because the contract has a none compete clause . i am friendly with the other franchisee and he feels it would be a waste of money to try to claim the same breach because i opened first and his store came after that . he let me here his conversion withe the ceo of the franchise the franchisee faxed him a measurment that was optained on google maps the franchisor response was if this was about what happened with the other store he explained that my contract expired and i had a measurement done and rather than go thought the legal expense of fighting over 75 feet of a 1.5 mile protection we agreed for me not to renew for a undisclosed amount of money . two weeks later i confirmed that he had that conversion and asked him now that the franchisor techincalley revealed the information and my name was never bought up i felt the information was in the public domain after all its not hard to measure the distance between two addreese he told me what to say if i was asked by anyone he said it was ok to talk about the distance breach but not to disclose the terms of the agreement mainly the money that was exchanged we put that in writting though e mail . one final thing my allagation that there was a distance breach was only part of the background of the case and never really mentioned in the terms of the agreement the franchisor in the agreement did not admit or deny that there was a distance breach . sorry to be so long winded but worse case scerino would be the othe franchisee sues the franchisor which would take time and money says i said something which i would deny i have things in writting then they would try to come after me me i just wonder if you feel this is unlikely
Submitted: 10 months ago.
Category: Business Law
Expert:  Law Educator, Esq. replied 10 months ago.
Thank you for your question. I look forward to working with you to provide you the information you are seeking.

I understand there was an alleged breach of competitor distance in your franchise agreement of 75 feet, but am I to understand this breach happened 14 years ago?

Also, while I got the facts from above, I am still a bit confused about why you would consider suing since the contract I thought you said above had not expired and you never renewed the contract?

Can you please try to clarify what you stated above and what you are actually asking us? Thank you again.
Customer: replied 10 months ago.

no i am not sueing i was afraid the franchisor would sue me but as i stated all though i mentioned something to the other franchisee the franchisor divulged what happen without my name being bought up . i also confronted my former franchisor just to confirm he had a conversation with the other franchisee once he did i asked what i should say if iwas asked about the distance breach he told me i could say there was a distance breach but not to divulge the terms of the agreement meaning how much i payed to get out . we confirmed this though e mails . this is almost a year ago the other franchisee has not tryed to bring any legal action but if he changes his mind and said i said something he would first have to sue the franchise which would take time and money and after that the franchisor would have to decide if they wanted to try to prove i said something which i deny i feel its unlikely to pursue me because i have something in writting that i feel aments or breaks the orginal agreement

Expert:  Law Educator, Esq. replied 10 months ago.
Thank you for your clarification.

At this point, first, it is not up to you to be sued, it would be the franchisor who would be sued, since they violated the distance agreement, not you. As you mentioned, you were the first one there, so you are not liable to the other franchise for any such violation, you could have sued him and the franchisor for the distance violation when this first took place.

It is not only unlikely that you would be sued, there is no legal basis for suing you over this. Any legal liability would be on the franchisor and not on you.



I truly aim to please you as a customer, but please keep in mind that I do not know what you already know or don't know, or with what you need help, unless you tell me. Please consider that I am answering the question or question that is posed in your posting based upon my reading of your post and sometimes misunderstandings can occur. If I did not answer the question you thought you were asking, please respond with the specific question you wanted answered.

Kindly remember the ONLY WAY experts receive any credit at all for spending time with customers is if you click on OK, GOOD or EXCELLENT SERVICE even though you have made a deposit or are a subscription customer. YOU MUST COMPLETE THE RATING FOR THE EXPERT TO RECEIVE ANY CREDIT, if not the site keeps your money on deposit.

Also remember, sometimes the law does not support what we want it to support, but that is not the fault of the person answering the question, so please be courteous.

Customer: replied 10 months ago.

even though i said something maybe i should not have ?

Expert:  Law Educator, Esq. replied 10 months ago.
Thank you for your response.

Yes, even though you may have said something you should not have said, that does not remove the fact you were there first, so any distance violation is on the franchisor and you would have had first rights to be there and could not be sued for being there.
Law Educator, Esq., Attorney
Category: Business Law
Satisfied Customers: 88315
Experience: All corporate law, including non-profits and charitable fraternal organizations.
Law Educator, Esq. and 3 other Business Law Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
< Last | Next >
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
  • My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer. Eric Redwood City, CA
  • I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight. Michael Wichita, KS
  • PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent. Three H. Houston, TX
  • Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!! Elaine Atlanta, GA
  • It worked great. I had the facts and I presented them to my ex-landlord and she folded and returned my deposit. The 50 bucks I spent with you solved my problem. Tony Apopka, FL
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Law Pro

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    1426
    20 years experience in business law - sole proprietor, partnership, and corporations
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/LA/lawpro/2012-6-25_171315_PT206740s.64x64.jpg Law Pro's Avatar

    Law Pro

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    1426
    20 years experience in business law - sole proprietor, partnership, and corporations
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DC/DCraneEsq/2012-8-14_14436_DCrane.64x64.jpg MShore Law's Avatar

    MShore Law

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    1233
    Drafted Negotiated and/or Reviewed Thousands of Commercial Agreements
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FL/FLAandNYLawyer/2012-1-27_14349_3Fotolia25855429M.64x64.jpg FiveStarLaw's Avatar

    FiveStarLaw

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    1162
    25 years of experience helping people like you.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/dkaplun/2009-05-17_173121_headshot_1_2.jpg Dimitry K., Esq.'s Avatar

    Dimitry K., Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    1142
    Run my own successful business/contract law practice.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/ohioatty/2009-1-22_185545_me.jpg J.Hazelbaker's Avatar

    J.Hazelbaker

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    393
    Experienced and trained in the area of business law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/scottymacesq/2009-6-10_221523_small.jpg RGMacEsq's Avatar

    RGMacEsq

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    393
    Licensed Texas General Practice Attorney
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BA/barristerinky/2012-6-10_22423_office.64x64.jpg Barrister's Avatar

    Barrister

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    301
    13 years practicing attorney, MBA