How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask FiveStarLaw Your Own Question

FiveStarLaw
FiveStarLaw, Attorney
Category: Business Law
Satisfied Customers: 36550
Experience:  25 years of experience helping people like you.
9968427
Type Your Business Law Question Here...
FiveStarLaw is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I have been sued in a civil complaint by a former client and

Resolved Question:

I have been sued in a civil complaint by a former client and family friend of mine. I used to have a small investment advisory firm. My business seized to exist, and I have no means left to consult with an attorney or retain legal representation. Currently, my wife supports us by paying for living expenses. We have a prenup but I am very frightened about how a judgment against me will affect her separate assets. Naturally, the situation has put enormous stress on us. Where can I get professional help? I have tried about a dozen or so legal services but they dismiss my plea stating that they represent either criminal cases or more standard cases such as bankruptcy or divorce. I am desperate. Thank you for any help!
Submitted: 4 years ago.
Category: Business Law
Expert:  FiveStarLaw replied 4 years ago.

Hello,


Thank you for your question. You may want to consider a Chapter 7 bankruptcy without your wife.


A husband and wife are not required to file a bankruptcy jointly. One party can file without the other.


The effect on the non-filing spouse will be dependent upon whether there are joint debts and/or joint assets. If there are no joint debts and no joint assets, there may be little or no effect on the non-filing spouse. If there are joint debts and/or joint assets, the non-filing spouse would remain liable on the joint debt and the joint assets would need to be included in the filing.


Customer: replied 4 years ago.
Thank you, XXXXX XXXXX helpful although I am afraid it's the minor part of my problem.

I received summons about a week ago, and I cannot afford legal representation. I get rejected everywhere I turn. I don't know what to do in order to properly prepare for the trial. I don't know how to prepare my case. I don't know the implications of different scenarios/outcomes. I have never been in a courtroom before, let alone know how to argue my case. I am afraid they will just trample all over me.

There must be resources other than the ones I already tried? Would you know of any? Thank you so very much for your help!
Expert:  FiveStarLaw replied 4 years ago.
Hello,

Here is a site that may assist you in retaining legal counsel: www.martindale.com

It may be almost impossible to find pro bono legal assistance for a business matter.

You can choose to file the bankruptcy on you own. Here is information regarding filing bankruptcy without a lawyer - click here. Here are the forms - click here.

A Chapter 7 bankruptcy could immediately stop the lawsuit and discharge (erase) all of your unsecured debt such as credit cards, judgments and personal loans. It would be an opportunity for a fresh financial start. However, you may have to surrender assets, if any, that exceed your exemption.


Here are the exemptions for California:
http://www.bankruptcyinformation.com/CA_exemp.htm

 


 

Best wishes for a successful outcome. If you have additional questions, please do not hesitate to submit them to me directly.

Thank you,
FLAandNYLAWYER
FiveStarLaw, Attorney
Category: Business Law
Satisfied Customers: 36550
Experience: 25 years of experience helping people like you.
FiveStarLaw and 6 other Business Law Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
< Last | Next >
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
  • My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer. Eric Redwood City, CA
  • I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight. Michael Wichita, KS
  • PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent. Three H. Houston, TX
  • Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!! Elaine Atlanta, GA
  • It worked great. I had the facts and I presented them to my ex-landlord and she folded and returned my deposit. The 50 bucks I spent with you solved my problem. Tony Apopka, FL
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Law Pro

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    1426
    20 years experience in business law - sole proprietor, partnership, and corporations
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/LA/lawpro/2012-6-25_171315_PT206740s.64x64.jpg Law Pro's Avatar

    Law Pro

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    1426
    20 years experience in business law - sole proprietor, partnership, and corporations
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DC/DCraneEsq/2012-8-14_14436_DCrane.64x64.jpg MShore Law's Avatar

    MShore Law

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    1233
    Drafted Negotiated and/or Reviewed Thousands of Commercial Agreements
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FL/FLAandNYLawyer/2012-1-27_14349_3Fotolia25855429M.64x64.jpg FiveStarLaw's Avatar

    FiveStarLaw

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    1162
    25 years of experience helping people like you.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/dkaplun/2009-05-17_173121_headshot_1_2.jpg Dimitry K., Esq.'s Avatar

    Dimitry K., Esq.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    1142
    Run my own successful business/contract law practice.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/ohioatty/2009-1-22_185545_me.jpg J.Hazelbaker's Avatar

    J.Hazelbaker

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    393
    Experienced and trained in the area of business law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/scottymacesq/2009-6-10_221523_small.jpg RGMacEsq's Avatar

    RGMacEsq

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    393
    Licensed Texas General Practice Attorney
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BA/barristerinky/2012-6-10_22423_office.64x64.jpg Barrister's Avatar

    Barrister

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    301
    13 years practicing attorney, MBA
 
 
 

Related Business Law Questions