How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask StockExpert Your Own Question

StockExpert
StockExpert,
Category: Business and Finance Homework
Satisfied Customers: 14
45261010
Type Your Business and Finance Homework Question Here...
StockExpert is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

For Verizon Corporation: Review stock market performance and

Resolved Question:

For Verizon Corporation:
Review stock market performance and debt ratings of our company. Comment on how well or poorly the market information relates to your findings in previous weeks. Are the stock and debt of your company priced appropriately for the company’s risk and earnings expectations? Which would you purchase as an investor? Explain why or why not?
Find one or more recent press releases about your company. Do any of them address financial issues? Does the press coverage seem consistent with your research?
Find one or more financial analyst reports about your company. Do they identify any financial issues you’ve overlooked? (Remember to keep your focus on financial factors.)
Post a message to the Forum explaining one of your key findings related to Market Data.
Submitted: 4 years ago.
Category: Business and Finance Homework
Expert:  StockExpert replied 4 years ago.
The recent decline in VZ stock is due to the sale of landlines to Frontier Communications. FTR bought the lines in a stock deal and the deal closed at the beginning of July. All VZ holders got a FTR stock dividend at the rate of @ 1 share of FTR for each 4.165977 shares of VZ. So if you held VZ the stock it depreciated in line with the FTR stock distribution. The good news is you got the FTR stock distribution as a VZ holder and FTR pays a pretty healthy dividend @ 11%.

The bond ratings are



Moody's S&P Fitch
Verizon Communications A3 A A
Verizon Communications - CP P-2 A-1 F-1
Verizon Wireless A2 A A





VZ's bond ratings came under scrutiny after the Alltel acquisition, As Verizon absorbed a significant amount of debt. The following is from the VZ web sight...

In May 2009, Standard and Poor's affirmed Verizon Communication’s 'A' corporate credit and 'A-1' short-term ratings with negative outlook and S&P placed the ratings of Verizon North and West Virginia on watch negative in consideration of the divestiture announcement. In January 2009, S&P affirmed the 'A' corporate credit and 'A-1' short-term ratings on Verizon Wireless.

In October 2009, Moody's affirmed Verizon Communication’s 'A3' long-term debt and “P-2” short-term ratings and changed the outlook to stable. The affirmation included the ratings of Verizon Wireless (‘A2’) and most wireline subsidiaries. In May 2009, Moody's placed the ratings of Verizon North, Northwest and West Virginia on review for possible downgrade in consideration of the divestiture announcement. In November 2008, Moody's initiated a Verizon Wireless long-term debt rating at 'A2'.

In May 2009, Fitch affirmed Verizon Communication's IDR at 'A' and placed Verizon North, North West and West Virginia on watch negative in consideration of the divestiture announcement. In November 2008, Fitch downgraded the long-term debt rating of Verizon Communications and subsidiaries to 'A' from 'A+' and changed the outlook to 'stable'. In the same month, Fitch initiated a Verizon Wireless long-term debt rating at 'A' and outlook 'stable'

http://investor.verizon.com/income/debt_ratings.aspx

I think that the debt is priced appropriately given it's current yield, I also think the stock is undervalued based solely on the dividend discount theory. The stock yields @ 6.5%..., but again trades at a discount due to the significant debt load.

I would buy the stock for potential appreciation due to success in wireless and FiOS services. In addition it is one of the best dividend payers out there.

As an Aside AT&T has a similar yield. People are obviously questioning the long term growth strategy of the phone companies..


Here is a link to some press releases

http://www.reuters.com/finance/stocks/keyDevelopments?rpc=66&symbol=VZ×tamp=20100701141200

The second press release deals with the financial issues surrounding the sale of landlines to Frontier.

The press coverage seems consistent with the research in that this is a very large corporation that practices full disclosure so it is very rare to have information mis priced. However, there were recent rumors about VZ potentially cutting the dividend this showed up on some blogs as well as on some of the independent musings on the stock.

Here is a link to a analyst report from seeking alpha (this is a great source of info FYI)

http://seekingalpha.com/article/216134-verizon-delivers-solid-second-quarter-outpaces-at-t-on-new-subscriptions

By the numbers:

Verizon added 1.4 million net wireless customers in the second quarter. That sum includes 665,000 retail postpaid subscribers.
Retail postpaid churn was 0.94 percent in the quarter. Retail churn was 1.33 percent and total churn was 1.27 percent.
Verizon ended the second quarter with 86.2 million retail customers and 92.1 million total.
Wireless data revenue was $4.7 billion, up 23.4 percent from a year ago.

Once the Q came out the stock has rallied nicely (also aided by the market)

One of the key findings has to be the fact that after the Q was reported it looks like the dividend is still safe at these levels base on strong subscriber growth, low churn and wireless data revenue up nicely! Also they will be getting the i phone soon which could also help subscriber growth and data revs...
StockExpert,
Satisfied Customers: 14
Experience: 
StockExpert and 3 other Business and Finance Homework Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
< Last | Next >
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex Los Angeles, CA
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP Hesperia, CA
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin Kernersville, NC
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther Woodstock, NY
  • Thank you so much for taking your time and knowledge to support my concerns. Not only did you answer my questions, you even took it a step further with replying with more pertinent information I needed to know. Robin Elkton, Maryland
  • He answered my question promptly and gave me accurate, detailed information. If all of your experts are half as good, you have a great thing going here. Diane Dallas, TX
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • linda_us

    Master's Degree

    Satisfied Customers:

    805
    A tutor for Business, Finance, Accounts and other related topics.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/LI/lindaus/2012-6-10_04811_IMG20120609164157.64x64.jpg linda_us's Avatar

    linda_us

    Master's Degree

    Satisfied Customers:

    805
    A tutor for Business, Finance, Accounts and other related topics.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JawaadAhmed/2009-6-27_12137_SIs_SHadi.jpg F. Naz's Avatar

    F. Naz

    Bachelor's Degree

    Satisfied Customers:

    355
    Have completed B.COM and CA Finalist
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JK/jkcpa/2011-1-16_182614_jkcpa.64x64.jpg Bizhelp's Avatar

    Bizhelp

    Accountant

    Satisfied Customers:

    257
    BA degree and Certified Public Accountant
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/ED/educatortech/2012-6-7_1256_williams4.64x64.jpg Mr. Gregory White's Avatar

    Mr. Gregory White

    Master's Degree

    Satisfied Customers:

    197
    M.A., M.S. Education / Educational Administration
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FL/FLAandNYLawyer/2012-1-27_14349_3Fotolia25855429M.64x64.jpg FiveStarLaw's Avatar

    FiveStarLaw

    Lawyer, Accountant & Researcher

    Satisfied Customers:

    161
    25 years of experience helping people like you.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BF/bfc77usa/2011-5-11_42346_face.64x64.jpg Alex's Avatar

    Alex

    Bachelor's Degree

    Satisfied Customers:

    144
    BS in Business Administration with honors. Able to assist in many business related courses.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BR/brittanyshock1/2012-6-16_174743_JAphoto.64x64.jpg Brittany's Avatar

    Brittany

    Professional

    Satisfied Customers:

    28
    AA/Accounting BS/Business
 
 
 

Related Business and Finance Homework Questions