How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Brent Blanchard Your Own Question

Brent Blanchard
Brent Blanchard, Bankruptcy Attorney
Category: Bankruptcy Law
Satisfied Customers: 1887
Experience:  Twelve years experience in all aspects of debtor & creditor BK.
Type Your Bankruptcy Law Question Here...
Brent Blanchard is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

I have received a SUMMONS AND COMPLAINT form from a creditor

Customer Question

I have received a SUMMONS AND COMPLAINT form from a creditor of mine. I do owe them the money. The credit limit on the credit was 7k, they are sueing for $9783 plus legal fees. I have 21 cdays to respond to the summons. What are my options? Worth noteing, I have made an attempt to pay them in payments, up to 3k at one time and they rejected my offer because it was not full payment. Can someone please help me with expert advise?
Submitted: 5 years ago.
Category: Bankruptcy Law
Expert:  Brent Blanchard replied 5 years ago.
In general and IME, creditors are willing to settle quickly if the debtor offers as little as half of what's owed, or sometimes as much as 80% of the balance, if it is paid in one lump-sum payment within 30 day.

Installment plans generally get approved for settlement either with a $2K+ "down payment" and monthly payments of at least what was called for under the contract.

In any installment plan, a shrewd creditor will "secure" the new agreement with a "confession of judgment", which authorizes filing the paperwork with the appropriate court about 30 seconds after the debtor misses a payment. This is harsh, because execution or wage garnishment can start within a few days or weeks after that!

With a summons and complaint being served, there is now an attorney involved, who will want to be paid. That's where the "down payment" comes in and is also often a source of at least $1K being added to the debt.

Money talks loudest in these situations. If they won't take an offer of $4,750 "down" and some payments for anything more they want to collect (start with the offer of half, no questions asked, within two weeks if you really can do it, then see how much *more* they would want after getting that much money), then you might want to consider bankruptcy to just get the debt discharged.

The most important thing is to avoid getting a judgment entered against you. That opens the door to wage garnishment, or attachment of any bank account(s)k, or seizure and sale of any non-exempt property. For most people, those collection actions spell financial disaster.

Get any agreements, including for an "extension of time" to answer the complaint, IN WRITING. E-mail counts, but the writing has to be from THEM.

Thank you.

BAB.
Brent Blanchard, Bankruptcy Attorney
Category: Bankruptcy Law
Satisfied Customers: 1887
Experience: Twelve years experience in all aspects of debtor & creditor BK.
Brent Blanchard and 4 other Bankruptcy Law Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 5 years ago.
So, I shpuld contact the origional creditor with an offer to settel the claim? What about answering the papers I was served?
Expert:  Brent Blanchard replied 5 years ago.
Contact the creditor first, have the case number XXXXX from the complaint in your hands, and don't be surprised if they say to call their attorney.

Since the CLIENT decides whether to accept any settlement offer, it's sometimes beneficial to bypass the opposing attorney (attorneys cannot do that, but the parties in litigation can).

Whether you wind up talking to the legal department or the accountant or the CEO or the attorney, make your best offer.

Thank you.

BAB.

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
< Last | Next >
  • Mr. Kaplun clearly had an exceptional understanding of the issue and was able to explain it concisely. I would recommend JustAnswer to anyone. Great service that lives up to its promises! Gary B. Edmond, OK
  • My Expert was fast and seemed to have the answer to my taser question at the tips of her fingers. Communication was excellent. I left feeling confident in her answer. Eric Redwood City, CA
  • I am very pleased with JustAnswer as a place to go for divorce or criminal law knowledge and insight. Michael Wichita, KS
  • PaulMJD helped me with questions I had regarding an urgent legal matter. His answers were excellent. Three H. Houston, TX
  • Anne was extremely helpful. Her information put me in the right direction for action that kept me legal, possible saving me a ton of money in the future. Thank you again, Anne!! Elaine Atlanta, GA
  • It worked great. I had the facts and I presented them to my ex-landlord and she folded and returned my deposit. The 50 bucks I spent with you solved my problem. Tony Apopka, FL
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • FiveStarLaw's Avatar

    FiveStarLaw

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    3203
    Bankruptcy Lawyer. Experienced.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FL/FLAandNYLawyer/2012-1-27_14349_3Fotolia25855429M.64x64.jpg FiveStarLaw's Avatar

    FiveStarLaw

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    3203
    Bankruptcy Lawyer. Experienced.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TL/tleeders/2012-6-13_204815_TSL1.64x64.jpg Terry L.'s Avatar

    Terry L.

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    2204
    Better Business Bur 15yrs bankruptcy experience. Chicago Bar
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/mnphillips2/2009-03-13_203105_10984459-249293407.jpeg Phillips Esq.'s Avatar

    Phillips Esq.

    Attorney-at-Law

    Satisfied Customers:

    950
    B.A.; M.B.A.; J.D.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/CO/cortrightlaw/2011-12-5_4117_Kevin.64x64.JPG cortrightlaw's Avatar

    cortrightlaw

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    490
    Attorney practicing Bankruptcy Law including Chapter 7, Chapter 11, Chapter 12, and Chapter 13.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/Jay1968/2006-12-03_004423_JoeRossPhoto.jpg JoeLawyer's Avatar

    JoeLawyer

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    376
    Attorney in the practice of Bankruptcy Law since 1996
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DY/Dylatess/2012-9-11_1968_BHBTemplePhoto.64x64.jpg dylatess's Avatar

    dylatess

    Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    370
    35 plus years of experience specializing in bankruptcy law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/US/USLawAnswers/2012-9-20_23143_20090105211638Headshot3b.64x64.jpg Brent Blanchard's Avatar

    Brent Blanchard

    Bankruptcy Attorney

    Satisfied Customers:

    315
    Twelve years experience in all aspects of debtor & creditor BK.