Bankruptcy Law Questions? Ask a Bankruptcy Lawyer Now.
No, the notarized paper, unless agreed to by the finance company, is not binding on it. Your husband could not become solely responsible for the debt without the finance company's consent.
I am curious how the finance company obtained a judgment against you without your knowledge. Were you ever served with a summons and complaint?
No, I would not advise bankruptcy for a single $14,000 judgment. There are other avenues you should explore first.
It depends on which state you are in.
" At present four U.S. states - North Carolina, Pennsylvania, South Carolina and Texas - do not allow wage garnishment at all except for debts related to taxes, child support, federally guaranteed student loans, and court-ordered fines or restitution for a crime the debtor committed. Several other states observe maximum thresholds that are lower than the 25 percent maximum provided by federal law. States may also prohibit garnishment altogether in certain circumstances. For example, in Florida the wages of a person who provides more than half the support for a child or other dependent are exempt from garnishment altogether (though this exemption is subject to waiver)."