How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask The Home Smithy Your Own Question

The Home Smithy
The Home Smithy, Home Appliance Technician
Category: Appliance
Satisfied Customers: 9556
Experience:  30 years repairing appliances
3079445
Type Your Appliance Question Here...
The Home Smithy is online now
A new question is answered every 9 seconds

Hello. I just read a review of an American Range http //w

Resolved Question:

Submitted: 5 years ago.
Category: Appliance
Expert:  The Home Smithy replied 5 years ago.

Hi thequinc1;

May I ask what it is that you wish to know about this unit, please?

Customer: replied 5 years ago.

I purchased a 24" American Range in March 2008. There were numerous delivery issues, which held up the rennovation of my kitchen. Within 2 months, the thermostat died and had to be replaced. Last Friday evening, the oven knob broke and now I cannot turn on the oven. The connection within the knob - where one pushes in and then turns the knob to turn on the oven - is "sheared off." Not sure what the technical lingo is for this. Just know the the knob is broken.

 

I am sick about the issues I'm having with a range for which I paid a lot of money. In addition to the major issues noted above, the markings for the settings on the other knobs are rubbing off. I can deal with this, but am upset about the seeming lack of quality.

 

I've sent an email to American Range and will contact them tomorrow. Thanks for any insight you can provide.

 

Expert:  The Home Smithy replied 5 years ago.

Ok the problems that you are encountering are warrenty related. If the warrenty has expired your only true financial recourse is through the courts, provided the manufacturer is unwilling to work with you to resolve these issues.

What I suggest is that you contact them as planned and see if they are willing to work with you. If they are, then that is great. If not then you of course may sue them in court, but this is going to cost you more in solicitors fees than it would to replace the unit.

The next logical step would be to have the unit repaired and then go to any consumer complaint sites you can find and place your story with the rest of them. Many times these sites are the gathering place for class action suits. You can also go to sites that sell the unit and post a customer review. The companies do not want this to happen as they loose money each time someone posts a negitive review.

I know that if I read a bad review on a product I am very unlikely to purchase it.

Best regards, XXXXX XXXXX Smithy

The Home Smithy, Home Appliance Technician
Category: Appliance
Satisfied Customers: 9556
Experience: 30 years repairing appliances
The Home Smithy and 3 other Appliance Specialists are ready to help you

JustAnswer in the News:

 
 
 
Ask-a-doc Web sites: If you've got a quick question, you can try to get an answer from sites that say they have various specialists on hand to give quick answers... Justanswer.com.
JustAnswer.com...has seen a spike since October in legal questions from readers about layoffs, unemployment and severance.
Web sites like justanswer.com/legal
...leave nothing to chance.
Traffic on JustAnswer rose 14 percent...and had nearly 400,000 page views in 30 days...inquiries related to stress, high blood pressure, drinking and heart pain jumped 33 percent.
Tory Johnson, GMA Workplace Contributor, discusses work-from-home jobs, such as JustAnswer in which verified Experts answer people’s questions.
I will tell you that...the things you have to go through to be an Expert are quite rigorous.
 
 
 

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you for the expeditious answer. It's good to know you're out there and awake in the wee hours when I finally have time to ask questions about my Jenn Air. Jean Riverhead, NY
< Last | Next >
  • Thank you for the expeditious answer. It's good to know you're out there and awake in the wee hours when I finally have time to ask questions about my Jenn Air. Jean Riverhead, NY
  • You did one super job of explaining to me everything there is to know about this fridge. I'm looking forward to asking you questions in the future. Jimmy Bagley, IA
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C. Freshfield, Liverpool, UK
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex Los Angeles, CA
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP Hesperia, CA
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin Kernersville, NC
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther Woodstock, NY
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • John

    Home Appliance Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    13453
    Appliance repair business owner for over 43 years.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/docjohn174/2008-12-13_170143_johnask.jpg John's Avatar

    John

    Home Appliance Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    13453
    Appliance repair business owner for over 43 years.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/tomgoe/2011-01-04_021913_2008-03-03_183612_phpexrmok_c2pm.jpg Tom Goellner's Avatar

    Tom Goellner

    Home Appliance Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    1293
    32 yrs. experience servicing major appliances and HVAC equipment.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MD/md2020/2012-6-6_20648_Selfpic.64x64.jpg Tyler Z.'s Avatar

    Tyler Z.

    Appliance Doc

    Satisfied Customers:

    58693
    9+ years being an appliance technician with factory training.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/SM/smitty1486/2011-3-1_0145_Snapshotofme1.64x64.png Kelly's Avatar

    Kelly

    Appliance Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    8783
    Highly accurate diagnostician with over 30 years experience!
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/AP/appliance medic/2012-6-8_212544_Image4.64x64.jpg Appliance Medic's Avatar

    Appliance Medic

    Home Appliance Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    7932
    Factory Trained CFC Technician
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TE/Teamcold/2012-6-15_15028_HomeRepairsquarecopy.64x64.jpg Barry G.'s Avatar

    Barry G.

    Home Appliance Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    6113
    27 years in home appliance repair. EPA refrigerant transition and recovery certification type I & II.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TH/TheHomeSmithy/2011-8-13_11146_homesmithy.500x500.64x64.jpg The Home Smithy's Avatar

    The Home Smithy

    Home Appliance Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    6081
    30 years repairing appliances
 
 
 

Related Appliance Questions

Chat Now With An Appliance Technician
The Home Smithy
The Home Smithy
Home Improvement Repair Consultant
6106 Satisfied Customers
30 years repairing appliances